fbpx

Diverse Books

Books by Asian Authors To Add To Your TBR Released in 2023

Discover various genres, including historical fiction, contemporary fiction, romance, fantasy, and much more.

Last Updated on May 1, 2024 by BiblioLifestyle

2023 Books by Asian Authors

Looking for something new to read?  Want to discover a hidden gem from the world of Asian authors?  Then you’re in luck!  There is an exciting lineup of books penned by Asian authors you’re already familiar with, alongside debut and emerging voices.  So we’ve done some digging and are sharing a list with some of 2023’s must-read books–all written by talented Asian authors that should be on your radar.

Discover various genres, including historical fiction, contemporary fiction, romance, fantasy, and much more – each book is guaranteed to inspire, inform or entertain!  So add a book or three from this list of 2023 books by Asian authors to add to your reading list!

Best 2023 Books by Asian Authors

2023 Cookbooks by Asian Authors

COOKBOOKS

Did You Eat Yet? : Craveable Recipes from an All-American Asian Chef by Ronnie Woo

From renowned chef and beloved food personality Ronnie Woo, a cookbook of over 100 craveable all-American Asian-inspired recipes.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Mayumu : Filipino American Desserts Remixed by Abi Balingit

A sweet baking book of fantastically imaginative remixed Filipino American dessert recipes, plus essays on the Filipino American experience by baker-fundraiser Abi Balingit.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

A Splash of Soy : Everyday Food from Asia by Lara Lee

From the beloved author of Coconut & Sambal, a cookbook on how to create authentic east and southeast Asian flavors at home using common ingredients, quickly and with minimal effort.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Memoirs 2023 Books by Asian Authors

MEMOIRS

A Living Remedy by Nicole Chung

From the bestselling author of All You Can Ever Know comes a searing memoir of class, inequality, and grief—a daughter’s search to understand the lives her adoptive parents led, the life she forged as an adult, and the lives she’s lost.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Oh My Mother! by Connie Wang

A dazzling mother-daughter adventure around the world in pursuit of self-discovery, a family reckoning, and Asian American defiance.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Biting the Hand : Growing Up Asian in Black and White America by Julia Lee

In the vein of Eloquent Rage and Minor Feelings—a passionate, no-holds-barred memoir about the Asian American experience in a nation defined by racial stratification.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

2023 Contemporary Fiction Books by Asian Authors

CONTEMPORARY FICTION

I Went To See My Father by Kyung-Sook Shin, Translated by Anton Hur

An instant bestseller in Korea and the follow up to the international bestseller, Please Look After Mom; centering on a woman’s efforts to reconnect with her aging father, uncovering long-held family secrets.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Advika and the Hollywood Wives by Kirthana Ramisetti

Advika Srinivasan never thought she’d be someone’s fourth wife, let alone the new wife of Julian Zelding, one of Hollywood’s most renowned film producers—a gripping tale of marriage, ambition, and power from the author of GMA Book Club pick Dava Shastri’s Last Day.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Paper Names by Susie Luo

An unexpected act of violence brings together a Chinese-American family and a wealthy white lawyer in this propulsive and sweeping story of family, identity, and the American experience—for fans of Jean Kwok, Mary Beth Keane and Naima Coster.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

More 2023 Contemporary Fiction Books by Asian Authors

Hula by Jasmin Iolani Hakes

Set in Hilo, Hawai’i, a sweeping saga of tradition, culture, family, history, and connection that unfolds through the lives of three generations of women—a brilliant blend of There, There and Sharks in the Time of Saviors that is a tale of mothers and daughters, dance and destiny, told in part in the collective voice of a community fighting for its survival.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Yellowface by R. F. Kuang

What’s the harm in a pseudonym? Bestselling sensation Juniper Song is not who she says she is, she didn’t write the book she claims she wrote, and she is most certainly not Asian American—in this chilling and hilariously cutting novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author R. F. Kuang in the vein of White Ivy and The Other Black Girl.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Moon Represents My Heart by Pim Wangtechawat

A lush, hopeful novel, for fans of The Immortalists and Everything I Never Told You, that follows a Chinese-British family of time travelers as they seek connections over borders―both national borders and those created by time.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

2023 Historical Fiction Books by Asian Authors

HISTORICAL FICTION

Deep as the Sky, Red as the Sea by Rita Chang-Eppig

For readers of Outlawed and The Night Tiger, a riveting, roaring adventure novel about a legendary Chinese pirate queen, her fight to save her fleet, and the dangerous price of power.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Where Waters Meet by Book by Ling Zhang

A daughter discovers the dramatic history that shaped her mother’s secret life in an emotional and immersive novel by Zhang Ling, the bestselling author of A Single Swallow.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

A History of Burning by Janika Oza

An epic, sweeping historical debut novel “about what it means to be part of a family and lineage, in all its heartbreaking and wondrous complexity” spanning continents and a century, and how one act of survival can reverberate through generations (Rachel Khong, author of Goodbye, Vitamin).

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

More 2023 Historical Fiction Books by Asian Authors

The Brightest Star by Gail Tsukiyama

The beloved bestselling author of The Color of Air, Women of the Silk, and The Samurai’s Garden returns with this magnificent historical novel based on the life of the luminous, groundbreaking actress Anna May Wong—the first and only Asian American woman to gain movie stardom in the early days of Hollywood.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Lady Tan’s Circle of Women by Lisa See

The latest historical novel from New York Times bestselling author Lisa See, inspired by the true story of a woman physician from 15th-century China—perfect for fans of See’s classic Snowflower and the Secret Fan and The Island of Sea Women.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

2023 Romance Books by Asian Authors

ROMANCE

The Fraud Squad by Kyla Zhao

Crazy Rich Asians meets The Devil Wears Prada in this millennial women’s fiction novel by debut author Kyla Zhao, about a working-class woman who infiltrates Singapore’s high society to fulfill her dreams, only to lose herself in the process.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Lunar Love by Lauren Kung Jessen

This sweet, enemies-to-lovers debut rom-com filled with Chinese astrology will undoubtedly prove to be a perfect match with readers of Helen Hoang, Jasmine Guillory, and Helena Hunting.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Do-Over by Suzanne Park

From the author of the “genuinely funny” and “delightful” Loathe at First Sight (NPR) and “cinematic, charming” So We Meet Again (Emily Henry), a fun rom-com about a young Korean-American woman having to return to college after discovering she’s a few credits shy of completing her degree—only to find one of her TAs is her old college boyfriend.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

More 2023 Romance Books by Asian Authors

Much Ado about Nada by Uzma Jalaluddin

A sparkling second-chance romance inspired by Jane Austen’s Persuasion…

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Good Fortune by C.K. Chau

A whip-smart and charming debut novel that brilliantly reimagines Pride and Prejudice, set in contemporary Chinatown, exploring contemporary issues of class divides, family ties, cultural identity, and the pleasures and frustrations that come with falling in love.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

2023 Fantasy Books by Asian Authors

FANTASY

The Last Tale of the Flower Bride by Roshani Chokshi

A sumptuous, gothic-infused story about a marriage that is unraveled by dark secrets, a friendship cursed to end in tragedy, and the danger of believing in fairy tales—the breathtaking adult debut from New York Times bestselling author Roshani Chokshi.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Immortal Longings by Chloe Gong

#1 New York Times bestselling YA author Chloe Gong’s adult epic fantasy debut, inspired by Shakespeare’s Antony and Cleopatra, is a fiery collision of power plays, spilled blood, and romance amidst a set of deadly games.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

2023 Mystery Books by Asian Authors

MYSTERY

Now You See Us by Balli Kaur Jaswal

Crazy Rich Asians meets The Help: From Reese’s Book Club veteran Balli Kaur Jaswal comes an absolute tour de force—the wildly entertaining and sharply observed story of three women who work in the homes of Singapore’s elite, and band together to solve a murder mystery involving one of their own.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers by Jesse Q. Sutanto

Knives Out meets Kim’s Convenience in this captivating mystery about a lonely shopkeeper takes it upon herself to solve a murder in the most peculiar way.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

What do you think about these books by Asian authors?

Have you read any of these books?  Are any of these books on your TBR?  What 2023 books by Asian authors would you add to this list?  Let’s talk about it in the comments.

MORE READING:

2023 Books by Asian Authors To Add To Your TBR

+ show Comments

- Hide Comments

add a comment

Leave a Reply

so hot right now

Free Guide!

get the guide

Summer is a time for relaxation, adventure, and exploration.  So if you're looking for the best new books of the season, this guide is just for you.

The 2024 Summer Reading Guide has forty-five new releases organized across eight categories. You’ll also find some fun things to do at home, summer-themed recipes, plus more.

Download The 2024 Summer Reading Guide

error: Content is protected !!