fbpx

Sci-Fi Fantasy Horror

The Best 2023 Science Fiction Fantasy Books

Looking for something imaginative to read this year? There’s something new and exciting for everyone on our list.

Last Updated on December 21, 2023 by BiblioLifestyle

The Best 2023 Science Fiction Books and Fantasy Books

If you’re looking for something imaginative to read this year, today is your lucky day.  The list of best 2023 science fiction books and fantasy books has arrived! From time-traveling adventures to surreal distant worlds, there’s something new and exciting for everyone on our list.  Whether you’re a first-time reader or an experienced fan of the genre, we guarantee that there’s something here for you.  Dive into some of the most incredible tales yet told as we take your literary experience to infinity and beyond with the top reads from this amazing genre.

New The Best 2023 Science Fiction Fantasy Books

The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of 2023

  1. Hell Bent by Leigh Bardugo
  2. Mr. Breakfast by Jonathan Carroll
  3. The Magician’s Daughter by H. G. Parry
  4. The Crane Husband by Kelly Barnhill
  5. The Mimicking of Known Successes by Malka Older
  6. The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi by Shannon Chakraborty
  7. The God of Endings by Jacqueline Holland
  8. The Curator by Owen King
  9. Infinity Gate by M. R. Carey
  10. Camp Zero by Michelle Min Sterling
  11. The Blood Gift by N. E. Davenport
  12. The Book That Wouldn’t Burn by Mark Lawrence
  13. The Will of the Many by James Islington
  14. Ink Blood Sister Scribe by Emma Törzs
  15. Translation State by Ann Leckie
  16. Mortal Follies by Alexis Hall
  17. The Battle Drum by Saara El-Arifi
  18. The Splinter in the Sky by Kemi Ashing-Giwa
  19. The Deep Sky by Yume Kitasei
  20. The Sun and the Void by Gabriela Romero Lacruz
  21. Godkiller by Hannah Kaner
  22. After the Forest by Kell Woods
  23. Starling House by Alix E. Harrow
  24. The Dead Take the A Train by Richard Kadrey, Cassandra Khaw
Hell Bent by Leigh Bardugo

Hell Bent by Leigh Bardugo

A high school dropout and low-level drug dealer has to balance academics, being a Virgil at Lethe House, finding a gateway to the underworld, and her gritty past.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Hell Bent is one of the books selected in The 2023 Winter Reading Guide.

Mr. Breakfast by Jonathan Carroll

Mr. Breakfast by Jonathan Carroll

Patterson is gifted with the ability to see in real time three different lives that are available to him. The choice is his: The life he is leading right now, or two very different ones. In all of them there is love or fame and of course danger because once he has chosen, there is no telling what will happen next.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Magician's Daughter by H. G. Parry

The Magician’s Daughter by H. G. Parry

In the early 1900s, a sheltered young woman is caught between two worlds, and she must brave evils to save her family.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Magician’s Daughter is one of the books selected in The 2023 Winter Reading Guide.

The Crane Husband by Kelly Barnhill

The Crane Husband by Kelly Barnhill

Inspired by the folktale of The Crane Wife, a teen is forced to grow up and do whatever it takes to protect her family.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Crane Hill is one of the books selected in The 2023 Winter Reading Guide.

The Mimicking of Known Successes by Malka Older

The Mimicking of Known Successes by Malka Older

The Mimicking of Known Successes presents a cozy Holmesian murder mystery and sapphic romance, set on Jupiter, by Malka Older, author of the critically-acclaimed Centenal Cycle.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi by Shannon Chakraborty

The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi by Shannon Chakraborty

Shannon Chakraborty, the bestselling author of The City of Brass, spins a new trilogy of magic and mayhem on the high seas in this tale of pirates and sorcerers, forbidden artifacts and ancient mysteries, in one woman’s determined quest to seize a final chance at glory—and write her own legend.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi is one of the books selected in The 2023 Spring Reading Guide.

The God of Endings by Jacqueline Holland

The God of Endings by Jacqueline Holland

By turns suspenseful and enchanting, this breathtaking first novel weaves a story of love, family, history, and myth as seen through the eyes of one immortal woman.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Curator by Owen King

The Curator by Owen King

From New York Times bestselling author Owen King comes a Dickensian fantasy of illusion and charm where cats are revered as religious figures, thieves are noble, scholars are revolutionaries, and conjurers are the most wonderful criminals you can imagine.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Infinity Gate by M. R. Carey

Infinity Gate by M. R. Carey

A brilliant genre-defying story of humanity’s expansion across millions of dimensions—and the AI technology that might see it all come to an end. Perfect for readers of The Space Between Worlds and Adrian Tchaikovsky.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Infinity Gate is one of the books selected in The 2023 Spring Reading Guide.

Camp Zero by Michelle Min Sterling

Camp Zero by Michelle Min Sterling

In a near-future northern settlement, a handful of climate change survivors find their fates intertwined in this mesmerizing and transportive novel in the vein of Station Eleven and The Power.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Camp Zero is one of the books selected in The 2023 Spring Reading Guide.

The Blood Gift by N. E. Davenport

The Blood Gift by N. E. Davenport

In this stunning conclusion to N. E. Davenport’s fast-paced, action-packed sci-fantasy duology, elite warrior Ikenna and her rogue cohort must outrun bounty hunters, their former comrades, and a megalomaniacal demi-god, all in the hopes of saving their friends and enemies from the racist and misogynistic oppression that threatens the continents from all sides.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Book That Wouldn't Burn

The Book That Wouldn’t Burn by Mark Lawrence

Two strangers find themselves connected by a mysterious and vast library, which contains many wonders and even more secrets, in the powerfully moving first book in a new series from the international bestselling author of Red Sister and Prince of Thorns.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Book That Wouldn’t Burn is one of the books in The 2023 Summer Reading Guide.

The Will of the Many by James Islington

The Will of the Many by James Islington

At the elite Catenan Academy, where students are prepared as the future leaders of the Hierarchy empire, the curriculum reveals a layered set of mysteries which turn murderous in this new fantasy by bestselling author of The Licanius Trilogy, James Islington.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Will of the Many is one of the books in The 2023 Summer Reading Guide.

Ink Blood Sister Scribe by Emma Törzs

Two estranged half-sisters tasked with guarding their family’s library of magical books must work together to unravel a deadly secret at the heart of their collection.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Ink Blood Sister Scribe is one of the books in The 2023 Summer Reading Guide.

It’s also a Good Morning America (GMA) Book Club selection.

Translation State by Ann Leckie

Translation State by Ann Leckie

The mystery of a missing translator sets three lives on a collision course that will have a ripple effect across the stars in this powerful new novel by award-winning author Ann Leckie.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Translation State is one of the books in The 2023 Summer Reading Guide.

Mortal Follies by Alexis Hall

Mortal Follies by Alexis Hall

A young noblewoman must pair up with an alleged witch to ward off a curse in this irresistible sapphic romance from the bestselling author of Boyfriend Material.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Battle Drum by Saara El-Arifi

The Battle Drum by Saara El-Arifi

Murder. Secrets. Sacrifice: Three women seek the truth of the empire’s past. And the truth they find has the power to ignite a war in the sequel to The Final Strife, the continuation of a visionary fantasy trilogy inspired by Africa and Arabia.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Battle Drum by Saara El-Arifi

The Splinter in the Sky by Kemi Ashing-Giwa

A diverse, exciting debut space opera about a young tea expert who is taken as a political prisoner and recruited to spy on government officials—a role that may empower her to win back her nation’s independence—perfect for fans of N.K. Jemisin and Nnedi Okorafor.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Splinter in the Sky is one of the books in The 2023 Summer Reading Guide.

The Deep Sky by Yume Kitasei

The Deep Sky by Yume Kitasei

An enthralling sci-fi thriller debut about a mission into deep space begins with a lethal explosion that leaves the survivors questioning the loyalty of the crew.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Sun and the Void by Gabriela Romero Lacruz

The Sun and the Void by Gabriela Romero Lacruz

In a lush world inspired by the history and folklore of South America, a sweeping epic fantasy of colonialism, ancient magic, and two young women’s quest for belonging unfolds.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Sun and the Void is one of the books in The 2023 Summer Reading Guide.

Godkiller

Godkiller by Hannah Kaner

Enter a land of gods and monsters, soldiers and mercenaries, secrets and wishes—the explosive #1 internationally bestselling fantasy debut in a new trilogy for fans of The Witcher and Gideon the Ninth.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Listen to Hannah talk about Godkiller on the podcast.

After the Forest by Kell Woods

After the Forest by Kell Woods

After the Forest is a dark and enchanting fantasy debut that explores the repercussions of a childhood filled with magic and a young woman contending with the truth of “happily ever after.”

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

After the Forest is one of the books selected for The 2023 Fall Reading Guide.

Starling House by Alix E. Harrow

Starling House by Alix E. Harrow

A grim and gothic tale that follows Opal and Arthur as they confront buried secrets and sinister forces in a small town haunted by a mysterious house.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Starling House is one of the books selected for The 2023 Fall Reading Guide.

It’s also a Reese’s Book Club selection.

The Dead Take the A Train by Richard Kadrey, Cassandra Khaw

The Dead Take the A Train by Richard Kadrey, Cassandra Khaw

Bestselling authors Richard Kadrey and Cassandra Khaw have teamed up to deliver a dark new story with magic, monsters, and mayhem, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Joe Hill.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Dead Take the A Train is one of the books selected for The 2023 Fall Reading Guide.

What do you think about this list of best science fiction fantasy of 2023?

Have you read any books from this list?  What are your favorite 2023 science fiction fantasy books?  What books would you add to the list?  Let’s talk about the best science fiction fantasy 2023 in the comments below.

The best science fiction fantasy of 2023

+ show Comments

- Hide Comments

add a comment

Leave a Reply

so hot right now

Free Guide!

get the guide

Summer is a time for relaxation, adventure, and exploration.  So if you're looking for the best new books of the season, this guide is just for you.

The 2024 Summer Reading Guide has forty-five new releases organized across eight categories. You’ll also find some fun things to do at home, summer-themed recipes, plus more.

Download The 2024 Summer Reading Guide

error: Content is protected !!