TOP

12 Books We Want to Read in August

We love helping readers find the best books each week in our e-newsletter, via our quarterly reading guides, and through our many book lists.  Despite all our best intentions, we can’t read all the books – even though we wish we could!  Plus, sometimes we miss out on early copies, and we have to wait until books are available in bookstores.  So this book list is filled with those books we can’t wait to get our hands on this month.

The dog days of August and summer are officially here, and we readers have much to look forward to.  So check out this list of new books that we can’t wait to read in August!

When the Reckoning Comes by LaTanya McQueen

When the Reckoning Comes by LaTanya McQueen

A haunting novel about a black woman who returns to her hometown for a plantation wedding and the horror that ensues as she reconnects with the blood-soaked history of the land and the best friends she left behind.

The Reading List by Sara Nisha Adams

The Reading List by Sara Nisha Adams

An unforgettable and heartwarming debut about how a chance encounter with a list of library books helps forge an unlikely friendship between two very different people in a London suburb.

Shallow Waters : A Novel Anita Kopacz

Shallow Waters by Anita Kopacz

In this stirring and lyrical debut novel the Yoruban deity of the sea, Yemaya, is brought to vivid life as a young woman discovers the power of Black resilience, love, and feminine strength during the Atlantic slave trade.

The Dating Dare : A Novel Jayci Lee

The Dating Dare by Jayci Lee

With witty characters and heartrending romance, Jayci Lee, author of A Sweet Mess, returns with The Dating Dare–where two people might just find out how hard it is to resist falling in love with the right person.

The President and the Frog : A novel Carolina De Robertis

The President and the Frog by Carolina De Robertis

An incandescent novel–political, mystical, timely, and heartening–about the power of memory, and the pursuit of justice, from the acclaimed author of Cantoras.

Savage Tongues : A Novel Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi

Savage Tongues by Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi

A novel about a young woman caught in an affair with a much older man, a personal and political exploration of desire, power, and human connection.

In My Dreams I Hold a Knife : A Novel Ashley Winstead

In My Dreams I Hold a Knife by Ashley Winstead

Told in racing dual timelines, with a dark campus setting and a darker look at friendship, love, obsession, and ambition, In My Dreams I Hold A Knife is an addictive, propulsive read you won’t be able to put down.

The King of Infinite Space  Lyndsay Faye

The King of Infinite Space by Lyndsay Faye

In this lush, magical, queer, and feminist take on Hamlet in modern-day New York City, a neuro-atypical philosopher, along with his best friend Horatio and artist ex-fiancé Lia, are caught up in the otherworldly events surrounding the death of his father.

The Family Plot : A Novel Megan Collins

The Family Plot by Megan Collins

From the author of The Winter Sister and Behind the Red Door, this novel follows a family obsessed with true crime as they gather to bury their patriarch–only to find another body already in his grave.

Make It Nice  Dorinda Medley

Make It Nice by Dorinda Medley

The Real Housewives of New York City fan-favorite Dorinda Medley takes fans inside her roller-coaster life and iconic Blue Stone Manor to share how they, too, can Make It Nice.

Seeing Ghosts : A Memoir Kat Chow

Seeing Ghosts by Kat Chow

For readers of Helen Macdonald and Elizabeth Alexander, an intimate and haunting portrait of grief and the search for meaning from a singular new talent as told through the prism of three generations of her Chinese American family.

The Women of Troy : A Novel Pat Barker

The Women of Troy by Pat Barker

A daring and timely feminist retelling of The Illiad from the perspective of the women of Troy who endured it–an extraordinary follow up to The Silence of the Girls from the Booker Prize-winning author of The Regeneration Trilogy.

What do you think about the books on this list?

Are any of these books on your TBR?  What books are you looking forward to reading in August?  What books would you add to the list?

Comments (2)

  • Deb S

    Dorinda Medley writing a book entitled Make it Nice?? How ironic…she’s the meanest, nastiest, sharp-tongued person around! I hope it’s a decorating book. 🤦🏻‍♀️

    reply

Post a Comment