BiblioLifestyle - Chicago Book List: Books Set in the Windy City

Armchair Travel

Chicago Book List: Books Set in the Windy City

From suspenseful thrillers to heartwarming romances, there is something for everyone on this list!

I'm victoria!

The blog is where I share reading tips, lifestyle how-to's, book lists, reading guides, share conversations with authors, offer free mini-trainings, plus all the things I'm currently obsessed with and find inspiring.

hello,

Find Out Your Reader Type

TAKE THE QUIZ!

Discover your reader type and get the resources you need to start reading, maintain the habit, and get intentional.

HOW TO HAVE AN INTENTIONAL & FULFILLING
READING LIFE
HOW TO GET OUT OF YOUR READING SLUMP
HOW TO SUCCESSFULLY START A READING HABIT
Freebies:
Chicago Book List Books Set in the Windy City

Chicago is a city with a rich history and vibrant culture.  It’s no wonder that so many authors have set their books in the Windy City.  If you’re looking for your next great read, check out this book list filled with Chicago books!  From suspenseful thrillers to heartwarming romances, there is something for everyone on this list.  So curl up with a good book and explore all Chicago offers!

List of Chicago Books

Last Summer on State Street by Toya Wolfe

Last Summer on State Street by Toya Wolfe

Marrying the Ketchups by Jennifer Close

Marrying the Ketchups by Jennifer Close

An irresistible comedy of manners about three generations of a Chicago restaurant family and the private jokes, ancient grudges, broken hearts, and deep, abiding love that feeds them all.

As the Wicked Watch : The First Jordan Manning Novel Tamron Hall

As the Wicked Watch by Tamron Hall

The first in a thrilling new series from Emmy Award-winning TV Host and Journalist Tamron Hall, As The Wicked Watch follows a reporter as she unravels the disturbing mystery around the deaths of two young Black women, the work of a serial killer terrorizing Chicago.

This Weightless World : A Novel Adam Soto

This Weightless World by Adam Soto

A literary debut subverting classic sci-fi tropes set in gentrified Chicago, Silicon Valley, and across the vastness of the cosmos.  From the streets of gentrified Chicago, to the tech boom corridors of Silicon Valley, This Weightless World follows a revolving cast of characters after alien contact upends their lives.

The Kindest Lie by Nancy Johnson

The Kindest Lie by Nancy Johnson

For fans of Tayari Jones and Jacqueline Woodson, a thought-provoking, page-turning debut about race, class, identity, and the pursuit of the American dream.

Crossroads by Jonathan Franzen

Crossroads by Jonathan Franzen

Crossroads is the first novel in Jonathan Franzen’s magnum opus, A Key to All Mythologies. The trilogy tells the story of a Midwestern family across three generations, mirroring the preoccupations and dilemmas of the United States from the Vietnam War to the 2020s. 

The Accidental Pinup by Danielle Jackson

The Accidental Pinup by Danielle Jackson

Rival Chicago photographers are forced to collaborate on a body-positive lingerie campaign, but they might have to readjust their focus when sparks fly.

Clark and Division  Naomi Hirahara

Clark and Division by Naomi Hirahara

Set in 1944 Chicago, Edgar Award-winner Naomi Hirahara’s eye-opening and poignant new mystery, the story of a young woman searching for the truth about her revered older sister’s death, brings to focus the struggles of one Japanese American family released from mass incarceration at Manzanar during World War II.

Runner by Tracy Clark

Runner by Tracy Clark

With a hard-charging, ripped from the headlines plot, Chicago-based journalist and award-winning author Tracy Clark explores timely issues around race, class, and addiction, as Black homicide cop-turned P.I. Cass Raines searches for a runaway teen–and unearths a twisted world of misdirection and lies…

The Brother Years : A Novel Shannon Burke

The Brother Years by Shannon Burke

From the acclaimed author of Black Flies and Into the Savage Country, a powerful new novel of class striving and the precarious dynamics of brotherhood in the Chicago suburbs of the late 1970s.

The Fate of a Flapper : A Mystery Susanna Calkins

The Fate of a Flapper by Susanna Calkins

The Fate of a Flapper, the second mystery in this captivating new series, takes readers into the dark, dangerous, and glittering underworld of a 1920’s Chicago speakeasy.

Native Son by Richard Wright

Native Son by Richard Wright

Set in Chicago in the 1930s, Richard Wright’s powerful novel is an unsparing reflection on the poverty and feelings of hopelessness experienced by people in inner cities across the country and of what it means to be black in America.

The Jungle by Upton Sinclair

The Jungle by Upton Sinclair

The Jungle is a startling and powerful novel depicting the plight of Jurgis Rudkus, a Slavic worker who immigrated to the United States in the early 20th Century for a better life.
The Great Believers By Rebecca Makkai

The Great Believers by Rebecca Makkai

A dazzling novel of friendship and redemption in the face of tragedy and loss set in 1980s Chicago and contemporary Paris.

The Nix by Nathan Hill

The Nix by Nathan Hill

It’s 2011, and Samuel Andresen-Anderson hasn’t seen his mother, Faye, in decades—not since she abandoned the family when he was a boy. Now she’s reappeared, having committed an absurd crime that electrifies the nightly news and inflames a politically divided country. The media paints Faye as a radical hippie with a sordid past, but as far as Samuel knows, his mother was an ordinary girl who married her high-school sweetheart. Which version of his mother is true? Two facts are certain: she’s facing some serious charges, and she needs Samuel’s help.

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

Henry DeTamble is a dashing, adventurous librarian who is at the mercy of his random time time-traveling abilities. Clare Abshire is an artist whose life moves through a natural sequential course. This is the celebrated and timeless tale of their love. Henry and Clare’s passionate affair is built and endures across a sea of time and captures them in an impossibly romantic trap that tests the strength of fate and basks in the bonds of love.

The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair That Changed America by Erik Larson

The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson

The true tale of the 1893 World’s Fair in Chicago and the cunning serial killer who used the magic and majesty of the fair to lure his victims to their death.

Saving Ruby King : A Novel Catherine Adel West

Saving Ruby King by Catherine Adel West

A Raisin in the Sun by Lorraine Hansberry

A Raisin in the Sun by Lorraine Hansberry

Indeed Lorraine Hansberry’s award-winning drama about the hopes and aspirations of a struggling, working-class family living on the South Side of Chicago connected profoundly with the psyche of black America–and changed American theater forever. The play’s title comes from a line in Langston Hughes’s poem Harlem, which warns that a dream deferred might dry up/like a raisin in the sun.

The Resolutions : A Novel Brady Hammes

The Resolutions by Brady Hammes

Three accomplished, globetrotting siblings in crisis take refuge in the last place they would ever expect—back home in Chicago, with one another—in this razor-sharp debut.

Love, Death & Rare Books  Robert Hellenga

Love, Death & Rare Books by Robert Hellenga

Chas. Johnson & Sons has been a family operation for three generations–grandfather, father and son. But when it comes time for Gabe Johnson to take the reins of the business, the world of books has changed, and the combination of the internet and inner city rents forces the store to close. But instead of folding his hand, Gabe decides to risk everything he has and reopen the shop–and, in a sense restart his life–in a small town on the shores of Lake Michigan.

Stateway's Garden : Stories Jasmon Drain

Stateway's Garden by Jasmon Drain

A blazingly original story collection about the interconnected lives of the residents of a public housing project on the South Side of Chicago.

Curious Toys Elizabeth Hand

Curious Toys by Elizabeth Hand

In the sweltering summer of 1915, Pin, the fourteen-year-old daughter of a carnival fortune-teller, dresses as a boy and joins a teenage gang that roams the famous Riverview amusement park, looking for trouble. Unbeknownst to the well-heeled city-dwellers and visitors who come to enjoy the midway, the park is also host to a ruthless killer who uses the shadows of the dark carnival attractions to conduct his crimes. When Pin sees a man enter the Hell Gate ride with a young girl, and emerge alone, she knows that something horrific has occurred.

What do you think about these Chicago books?

Have you read any of these Chicago books?  Are any of them on your TBR?  What books set in Chicago would you add to this list?  Let’s talk about it in the comments below.

Book List - Chicago Book List Books Set in the Windy City

+ show Comments

- Hide Comments

add a comment

Leave a Reply

so hot right now

I'm Victoria, your new book bestie.

I nerd out over books, I'm constantly dreaming of ways we can all live the literary life we want, and my obsession is watching people discover how books can change their lives!

more about me

hey there!

curious? take the quiz

Discover your reader type and get the resources you need to start reading, maintain the habit, and get intentional.

What's Your Reader Type?

Free Guide!

get the guide

The holiday season is quickly approaching, and that means it's time to start thinking about gift ideas! If you're looking for a gift that will thrill any book lover, look no further.

Whether you’re looking for a gift for someone else or you want to treat your shelf, you'll definitely find some options in our 2022 Holiday Gift Guide.

Download The 2022 Holiday Gift Guide

%d bloggers like this: