TOP

Most Anticipated Winter 2021 Sci-Fi and Fantasy Books

There are a ton of great science fiction and fantasy books in store for Winter 2021.  These books are only a dent in the amazing lineup — so if you have any suggestions of titles to add, feel free to drop them in the comments below!

Winter's Orbit by Everina Maxwell

A famously disappointing minor royal and the Emperor’s least favorite grandchild, Prince Kiem is summoned before the Emperor and commanded to renew the empire’s bonds with its newest vassal planet. The prince must marry Count Jainan, the recent widower of another royal prince of the empire.

But Jainan suspects his late husband’s death was no accident. And Prince Kiem discovers Jainan is a suspect himself. But broken bonds between the Empire and its vassal planets leaves the entire empire vulnerable, so together they must prove that their union is strong while uncovering a possible conspiracy.

The Absolute Book by Elizabeth Knox

A bewitching story about a revenge killing, a mysterious scroll box that has survived centuries of fires, and the book that changed everything.

The Absolute Book is epic, action-packed fantasy in which hidden treasures are recovered, wicked things resurface, birds can talk, and dead sisters are a living force. It is a book of journeys and returns, from contemporary England to Auckland, New Zealand; from a magical fairyland to Purgatory. Above all, it is a declaration of love for stories and the ways in which they shape our worlds and create gods out of mortals.

Amid the Crowd of Stars by Stephen Leigh

This innovative sci-fi novel explores the potential impact of alien infection on humankind as they traverse the stars and find themselves stranded on new and strange planets.

Amid the Crowd of Stars is a grand scale science fiction novel examining the ethical implications of interstellar travel, a topic rarely addressed in science fiction novels. What responsibilities do we have to isolate ourselves from the bacteria, viruses, and other life of another world, and to prevent any of that alien biome from being brought back to Earth?

The Future Is Yours by Dan Frey

If you had the chance to look one year into the future, would you?

Two best friends create a computer that can predict the future. But what they can’t predict is how it will tear their friendship–and society–apart.

Told through emails, texts, transcripts, and blog posts, this bleeding-edge tech thriller chronicles the costs of innovation and asks how far you’d go to protect the ones you love–even from themselves.

The Memory Theater by Karin Tidbeck

From the award-winning author of Amatka and Jagannath–a fantastical tour de force about friendship, interdimensional theater, and a magical place where no one ages, except the young.

In the Quick by Kate Hope Day

A young, ambitious female astronaut’s life is upended by a fiery love affair that threatens the rescue of a lost crew in this brilliantly imagined novel in the tradition of Station Eleven and The Martian.

Forget Me Not by Alexandra Oliva

She was born for all the wrong reasons. But her search for the truth reveals answers she wishes she could forget in this suspenseful and deeply moving near-future thriller.

Machinehood by S.B. Divya

A science fiction thriller about artificial intelligence, sentience, and labor rights in a near future dominated by the gig economy. A thrilling and thought-provoking novel that asks: if we won’t see machines as human, will we instead see humans as machines?

Are you looking forward to any of these books?

What science fiction and fantasy books are you looking forward to in 2021?  What books would you add to the list?

Post a Comment