BiblioLifestyle - Historical Fiction Novels Of Summer 2020

Most Anticipated Books

Historical Fiction Novels Of Summer 2020

If your favorite way to learn about history is to immerse yourself in a novel inspired by actual events, you’ll thoroughly enjoy some of the historical fiction novels hitting shelves in Summer 2020.

[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]

[edgtf_dropcaps type=”normal” color=”#d6a67c” background_color=””]I[/edgtf_dropcaps]f your favorite way to learn about history is to immerse yourself in a novel inspired by actual events, you’ll thoroughly enjoy some of the historical fiction novels hitting shelves in Summer 2020. From bestselling authors you’re already acquainted with, to debut authors making their mark in the genre, we are sure you’ll find something to pique your interest. So make space on your bookshelves, make those library requests, reserve these titles and check out SIXTEEN of our most anticipated historical fiction novels of Summer 2020!

Mrs. Lincoln's Sisters by Jennifer Chiaverini

The New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker returns to her most famous heroine, Mary Todd Lincoln, in this compelling story of love, loss, and sisterhood rich with history and suspense.

[edgtf_button text=”READ MORE” target=”_blank” icon_pack=”” font_weight=”” text_transform=”” padding=”20px” link=”https://bookshop.org/a/414/9780062975973″]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]
[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]

An Elegant Woman by Martha McPhee

For fans of Mary Beth Keane and Jennifer Egan, this powerful, moving multigenerational saga from National Book Award finalist Martha McPhee–ten years in the making–explores one family’s story against the sweep of 20th century American history.

[edgtf_button text=”READ MORE” target=”_blank” icon_pack=”” font_weight=”” text_transform=”” padding=”20px” link=”https://bookshop.org/a/414/9781501179570″]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]
[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]

The Lost Diary of Venice by Margaux DeRoux

Two impossible love stories are fatefully connected by one artistic legacy in a stunning debut that leaps between the mysteries of late-Renaissance Venice and the dramas of present-day America.

[edgtf_button text=”READ MORE” target=”_blank” icon_pack=”” font_weight=”” text_transform=”” padding=”20px” link=”https://bookshop.org/a/414/9781984819482″]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]
[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]

Red Sky Over Hawaii by Sara Ackerman

Inspired by real places and events of WWII, Red Sky Over Hawaii immerses the reader in a time of American history full of suspicion and peril in this lush and poignant tale about the indisputable power of doing the right thing against all odds.

[edgtf_button text=”READ MORE” target=”_blank” icon_pack=”” font_weight=”” text_transform=”” padding=”20px” link=”https://bookshop.org/a/414/9780778309673″]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]
[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]
The Last Train to Key West by Chanel Cleeton

The Last Train to Key West by Chanel Cleeton

In 1935 three women are forever changed when one of the most powerful hurricanes in history barrels toward the Florida Keys.

[edgtf_button text=”READ MORE” target=”_blank” icon_pack=”” font_weight=”” text_transform=”” padding=”20px” link=”https://bookshop.org/a/414/9780451490889″]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]
[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]
We Came Here to Shine by Susie Orman Schnall


We Came Here to Shine by Susie Orman Schnall

Set at the iconic 1939 New York World’s Fair, Susie Orman Schnall’s We Came Here to Shine is historical fiction featuring two bold and ambitious women who navigate a world of possibility and find out what they’re truly made of during a glorious summer of spectacle and potential.

[edgtf_button text=”READ MORE” target=”_blank” icon_pack=”” font_weight=”” text_transform=”” padding=”20px” link=”https://bookshop.org/a/414/9781250169785″]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]
[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]

Her Last Flight by Beatriz Williams

Beatriz Williams returns with a remarkable novel of both raw suspense and lyric beauty– the story of a lost pilot and a wartime photographer that will leave its mark on your soul.

[edgtf_button text=”READ MORE” target=”_blank” icon_pack=”” font_weight=”” text_transform=”” padding=”20px” link=”https://bookshop.org/a/414/9780062834782″]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]
[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]
The Color of Air by Gail Tsukiyama

The Color of Air by Gail Tsukiyama

From the New York Times bestselling author of Women of the Silk and The Samurai’s Garden comes a gorgeous and evocative historical novel about a Japanese-American family set against the backdrop of Hawai’i’s sugar plantations.

[edgtf_button text=”READ MORE” target=”_blank” icon_pack=”” font_weight=”” text_transform=”” padding=”20px” link=”https://bookshop.org/a/414/9780062976192″]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]
[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]
[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]
The Lions of Fifth Avenue by Fiona Davis

The Lions of Fifth Avenue by Fiona Davis

In nationally bestselling author Fiona Davis’s latest historical novel, a series of book thefts roils the iconic New York Public Library, leaving two generations of strong-willed women to pick up the pieces.

[edgtf_button text=”READ MORE” target=”_blank” icon_pack=”” font_weight=”” text_transform=”” padding=”20px” link=”https://bookshop.org/a/414/9781524744618″]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]
[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]

Hamnet by Maggie O’Farrell

England, 1580: The Black Death creeps across the land, an ever-present threat, infecting the healthy, the sick, the old and the young, alike. The end of days is near, but life always goes on.

[edgtf_button text=”READ MORE” target=”_blank” icon_pack=”” font_weight=”” text_transform=”” padding=”20px” link=”https://bookshop.org/a/414/9780525657606″]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]
[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]
The Book of Lost Names by Kristin Harmel


The Book of Lost Names by Kristin Harmel

Inspired by an astonishing true story from World War II, a young woman with a talent for forgery helps hundreds of Jewish children flee the Nazis.

[edgtf_button text=”READ MORE” target=”_blank” icon_pack=”” font_weight=”” text_transform=”” padding=”20px” link=”https://bookshop.org/a/414/9781982131890″]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]
[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]

Paris Never Leaves You by Ellen Feldman

Alternating between wartime Paris and 1950s New York publishing, Ellen Feldman’s Paris Never Leaves You is an extraordinary story of resilience, love, and impossible choices, exploring how survival never comes without a cost.

[edgtf_button text=”READ MORE” target=”_blank” icon_pack=”” font_weight=”” text_transform=”” padding=”20px” link=”https://bookshop.org/a/414/9781250759894″]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]
[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]

The Wright Sister by Patty Dann

An epistolary novel of historical fiction that imagines the life of Katharine Wright and her relationship with her famous brothers, Wilbur and Orville Wright.

[edgtf_button text=”READ MORE” target=”_blank” icon_pack=”” font_weight=”” text_transform=”” padding=”20px” link=”https://bookshop.org/a/414/9780062993113″]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]
[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]

Jackie and Maria by Gill Paul

From the bestselling author of The Secret Wife comes a story of love, passion, and tragedy as the lives of Jackie Kennedy and Maria Callas are intertwined―and they become the ultimate rivals, in love with the same man.

[edgtf_button text=”READ MORE” target=”_blank” icon_pack=”” font_weight=”” text_transform=”” padding=”20px” link=”https://bookshop.org/a/414/9780062952493″]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]
[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]

Against the Loveless World by Susan Abulhawa

From the internationally bestselling author of Mornings in Jenin, a sweeping and lyrical novel that follows a young Palestinian refugee as she slowly becomes radicalized while searching for a better life for her family throughout the Middle East, for readers of international literary bestsellers including Washington Black, My Sister, The Serial Killer, and Her Body and Other Parties.

[edgtf_button text=”READ MORE” target=”_blank” icon_pack=”” font_weight=”” text_transform=”” padding=”20px” link=”https://bookshop.org/a/414/9781982137038″]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]
[edgtf_elements_holder holder_full_height=”no” number_of_columns=”one-column” switch_to_one_column=”” alignment_one_column=””][edgtf_elements_holder_item]

The Paris Children by Gloria Goldreich

Inspired by the true story of one woman’s fight to survive during the 20th century’s darkest hour.

[edgtf_button text=”READ MORE” target=”_blank” icon_pack=”” font_weight=”” text_transform=”” padding=”20px” link=”https://bookshop.org/a/414/9781728215624″]
[/edgtf_elements_holder_item][/edgtf_elements_holder]

+ show Comments

- Hide Comments

add a comment

Leave a Reply

oh so popular

A once-weekly e-newsletter to inspire your desire to read and live a life filled with books.

TERMS 
PRIVACY 
COPYRIGHT
EDITORIAL
ADVERTISE
ABOUT
CONTACT
DISCLAIMER

BIBLIOLIFESTYLE

follow along on social:

© 2020 - 2022  THE BIBLIO GROUP, LLC  |  BIBLIOLIFESTYLE  |  

SEND ME A NOTE >

GET ON THE LIST >

@BIBLIOLIFESTYLE >

Links to third-party sites may include affiliate links.  As a Bookshop Affiliate, BiblioLifestyle earns from qualifying purchases.  See the Bookshop affiliate terms.

affiliate

[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
%d bloggers like this: