TOP

Our Favorite Reads of August 2020

As temperatures peak and fluctuate in August, we are squeezing every last drop from those laid back summer days.  We also have plans to devour more amazing summer reads!  The last set of books from our Summer Reading Guide will be released this month and we’re catching up on some new to us books as well.  In our list, you’ll find historical fiction, literary fiction, psychological thrillers, mysteries, family drama, feel-good reads, and more!  So make space on your bookshelves, make those library requests, reserve these titles, and hopefully, you will find a favorite or two from our favorite reads of August 2020.

The Death of Vivek Oji by Akwaeke Emezi

Propulsively readable, teeming with unforgettable characters, The Death of Vivek Oji is a novel of family and friendship that challenges expectations–a dramatic story of loss and transcendence that will move every reader.

With or Without You by Caroline Leavitt

A story of love, loyalty, loss, and resilience, With or Without You is a page-turner that asks the question, What do we owe the other people in our lives, and when does the cost become too great?

Vanessa Yu’s Magical Paris Tea Shop by Roselle Lim

From the critically acclaimed author of Natalie Tan’s Book of Luck and Fortune comes a new delightful novel about exploring all the magical possibilities of life in the most extraordinary city of all: Paris.

The Boys’ Club by Erica Katz

Sweetbitter meets The Firm in this buzzy, page-turning debut novel–already optioned to Netflix–about sex and power in the halls of corporate America.

Lies, Lies, Lies by Adele Parks

In Lies, Lies, Lies, #1 Sunday Times bestselling author Adele Parks explores the darkest corners of a relationship in free fall in a mesmerizing tale of marriage and secrets.

Bear Necessity by James Gould-Bourn

A heartwarming, poignant, and charming debut novel for fans of Nick Hornby and The Rosie Project, about a father and son overcoming their grief in surprisingly inventive ways.

Bronte’s Mistress by Finola Austin

This dazzling debut novel for fans of Mrs. Poe and Longbourn explores the scandalous historical love affair between Branwell Brontë and Lydia Robinson, giving voice to the woman who allegedly corrupted her son’s innocent tutor and brought down the entire Brontë family.

Behind the Red Door by Megan Collins

A darkly thrilling novel about a woman who comes to believe that she has a connection to a decades old kidnapping and now that the victim has gone missing again, begins a frantic search to learn what happened in the past.

Louisiana Lucky by Julie Pennell

A charming novel reminiscent of the works of Mary Alice Monroe and Kristy Woodson Harvey, about three sisters who win a huge lottery prize and learn what it truly means to be lucky.

Luster by Raven Leilani

Luster is a portrait of a young woman trying to make sense of her life–her hunger, her anger–in a tumultuous era. It is also a haunting, aching description of how hard it is to believe in your own talent, and the unexpected influences that bring us into ourselves along the way.

Imperfect Women by Araminta Hall

Imperfect Women explores guilt and retribution, love and betrayal, and the compromises we make that alter our lives irrevocably. With the wickedly sharp insights and finely tuned suspense that has drawn comparisons to Patricia Highsmith and Paula Hawkins, Araminta Hall returns with another page-turning, thought-provoking tour de force.

The Eighth Detective by Alex Pavesi

Alex Pavesi’s The Eighth Detective is a love letter to classic detective stories with a modern twist, where nothing is as it seems, and proof that the best mysteries break all the rules.

Paris Never Leaves You by Ellen Feldman

Alternating between wartime Paris and 1950s New York publishing, Ellen Feldman’s Paris Never Leaves You is an extraordinary story of resilience, love, and impossible choices, exploring how survival never comes without a cost.

The Night Swim by Megan Goldin

A true crime podcast host covering a controversial trial finds herself drawn deep into a small town’s dark past and a brutal crime that took place there years before.

The Boy in the Field by Margot Livesey

A poignant and probing psychological drama that follows the lives of three siblings in the wake of a violent crime.

Jackie and Maria by Gill Paul

A story of love, passion, and tragedy as the lives of Jackie Kennedy and Maria Callas are intertwined–and they become the ultimate rivals, in love with the same man.

Three Perfect Liars by Heidi Perks

A riveting new suspense novel about three ambitious women whose lives are turned upside down in the aftermath of a horrifying fire, which destroys a successful advertising agency and threatens to expose a tangled web of lies.

The Switch by Beth O’Leary

A grandmother and granddaughter swap lives in The Switch, a charming, romantic novel.

Against the Loveless World by Susan Abulhawa

A sweeping and lyrical novel that follows a young Palestinian refugee as she slowly becomes radicalized while searching for a better life for her family throughout the Middle East.

Sisters by Daisy Johnson

Sisters is a one-two punch of wild fury and heartache–a taut, powerful, and deeply moving account of sibling love and what happens when two sisters must face each other’s darkest impulses.

Winter Counts by David Heska Wanbli Weiden

A groundbreaking thriller about a vigilante on a Native American reservation who embarks on a dangerous mission to track down the source of a heroin influx.

The Exiles by Christina Baker Kline

An ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel that captures the hardship, oppression, opportunity, and hope of a trio of women’s lives–two English convicts and an orphaned Aboriginal girl — in nineteenth-century Australia.

The Socrates Express by Eric Weiner

A rollicking intellectual journey, following in the footsteps of history’s greatest thinkers and showing us how each–from Epicurus to Gandhi, Thoreau to Beauvoir–offers practical and spiritual lessons for today’s unsettled times.

The Wrong Mr. Darcy by Evelyn Lozada, Holly Lorincz

A lightly inspired Pride and Prejudiceromantic comedy, two unlikely people discover the error of judging by first impressions and the beauty of family, friendship and love.

What do you think about these books?

Have you read any of these books?  Are any on your TBR?  What are your favorite reads from the month of August?

%d bloggers like this: