TOP

Our Favorite Reads of June 2020

June was blockbuster month for books!  Plus a lot of reads from our Summer Reading Guide are now available for purchase wherever books are sold.  Collectively we selected TWENTY THREE of our favorite reads from the list of new releases that had publication dates in June.  In our list, you’ll find historical fiction, literary fiction, psychological thrillers, mysteries, family drama, feel-good reads, and more!  So make space on your bookshelves, make those library requests, reserve these titles, and hopefully, you will find a favorite or two from our favorite reads of June 2020.

The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett

From The New York Times-bestselling author of The Mothers, a stunning new novel about twin sisters, inseparable as children, who ultimately choose to live in two very different worlds, one black and one white.

The Voter File by David Pepper

A twisty, one-step-ahead-of-the-headlines political thriller featuring a rogue reporter who investigates election meddling of epic proportions written by the ultimate insider.

A Burning by Megha Majumdar

For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise–to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies–and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.

An Elegant Woman by Martha McPhee

For fans of Mary Beth Keane and Jennifer Egan, this powerful, moving multigenerational saga from National Book Award finalist Martha McPhee–ten years in the making–explores one family’s story against the sweep of 20th century American history.

Last Tang Standing by Lauren Ho

Crazy Rich Asians meets Bridget Jones’s Diary in this funny and irresistible debut novel about the pursuit of happiness, surviving one’s thirties intact, and opening oneself up to love.

Pizza Girl by Jean Kyoung Frazier

In the tradition of audacious and wryly funny novels like The Idiot and Convenience Store Woman comes the wildly original coming-of-age story of a pregnant pizza delivery girl who becomes obsessed with one of her customers.

The Distant Dead by Heather Young
The Distant Dead by Heather Young

A body burns in the high desert hills. A boy walks into a fire station, pale with the shock of a grisly discovery. A middle school teacher worries when her colleague is late for work. By day’s end, when the body is identified as local math teacher Adam Merkel, a small Nevada town will be rocked to its core by a brutal and calculated murder.

The Boyfriend Project by Farrah Rochon
The Boyfriend Project by Farrah Rochon

In this witty rom-com, three young women bond when the live Tweeting of a disastrous date leads them to discover they’ve all been duped by the same man.

The Last Train to Key West by Chanel Cleeton
The Last Train to Key West by Chanel Cleeton

In 1935 three women are forever changed when one of the most powerful hurricanes in history barrels toward the Florida Keys.

I Was Told It Would Get Easier by Abbi Waxman
I Was Told It Would Get Easier by Abbi Waxman

Squashed among a bus full of strangers, mother-daughter duo Jessica and Emily Burnstein watch their carefully mapped-out college tour devolve into a series of off-roading misadventures, from the USA Today bestselling author of The Bookish Life of Nina Hill.

The Margot Affair by Sanaë Lemoine

The secret daughter of a French politician and a famous actress drops the startling revelation that will shatter her family in this beguiling debut novel of intrigue and betrayal.

Don't Turn Around by Jessica Barry
Don’t Turn Around by Jessica Barry

The riveting follow up to Jessica Barry’s debut Freefall–a controversial, of-the-moment thriller about two women fighting for their right to live.

Saving Ruby King by Catherine Adel West

An unforgettable debut novel, Saving Ruby King is a powerful testament that history doesn’t determine the present and the bonds of friendship can forever shape the future.

Party of Two by Jasmine Guillory
Party of Two by Jasmine Guillory

A chance meeting with a handsome stranger turns into a whirlwind affair that gets everyone talking.

Take a Hint, Dani Brown by Talia Hibbert
Take a Hint, Dani Brown by Talia Hibbert

USA Today bestselling author Talia Hibbert returns with another charming romantic comedy about a young woman who agrees to fake date her friend after a video of him “rescuing” her from their office building goes viral…

The Girl from Widow Hills by Megan Miranda
The Girl from Widow Hills by Megan Miranda

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Last House Guest–a Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick–comes a riveting new novel of psychological suspense about a young woman plagued by night terrors after a childhood trauma who wakes one evening to find a corpse at her feet.

Head Over Heels by Hannah Orenstein
Head Over Heels by Hannah Orenstein

From the author of the Love at First Like and Playing with Matches, an electrifying rom-com set in the high stakes world of competitive gymnastics.

The Last Flight by Julie Clark
The Last Flight by Julie Clark

For fans of Lisa Jewell and Liv Constantine, The Last Flight is the story of two women–both alone, both scared–and one agonizing decision that will change the trajectory of both of their lives.

All the Broken People by Leah Konen

A woman in search of a fresh start is about to get more than she bargained for in this twisty and addictive domestic thriller for fans of The Couple Next Door.

Friends and Strangers by J. Courtney Sullivan
Friends and Strangers by J. Courtney Sullivan

An insightful, hilarious, and compulsively readable novel about a complicated friendship between two women who are at two very different stages in life, from the best-selling author of Maine and Saints for All Occasions.

Destination Wedding by Diksha Basu

From the internationally bestselling author of The Windfall. . . . What could go wrong at a lavish Indian wedding with your best friend and your entire family?

Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

An isolated mansion. A chillingly charismatic aristocrat. And a brave socialite drawn to expose their treacherous secrets.

Thin Girls by Diana Clarke

A dark, edgy, voice-driven literary debut novel about twin sisters that explores body image and queerness as well as toxic diet culture and the power of sisterhood, love, and lifelong friendships, written by a talented protégé of Roxane Gay.

Post a Comment