TOP

Our Favorite Reads of May 2020

Somehow we managed to survive another difficult and trying month!  The only thing that’s been keeping us sane through unemployment, working from home, home-schooling, cooking most of our meals, and cleaning up are books!

Collectively we selected THIRTEEN of our favorite reads from the list of new releases that had publication dates in May.  In our list, you’ll find historical fiction, literary fiction, psychological thrillers, mysteries, family drama, feel-good reads, and more!  So make space on your bookshelves, make those library requests, reserve these titles, and hopefully, you will find a favorite or two from our favorite reads of May 2020.
A Good Marriage by Kimberly McCreight

A woman’s brutal murder reveals the perilous compromises some couples make—and the secrets they keep—in order to stay together.

The Paris Hours by Alex George

Told over the course of a single day in 1927, Alex George’s The Paris Hours takes four ordinary people whose stories, told together, are as extraordinary as the glorious city they inhabit.

All Adults Here by Emma Straub

A warm, funny, and keenly perceptive novel about the life cycle of one family–as the kids become parents, grandchildren become teenagers, and a matriarch confronts the legacy of her mistakes.

Tiny Imperfections by Alli Frank, Asha Youmans

The Devil Wears Prada meets Class Mom in this delicious novel of love, money, and misbehaving parents. As admissions season heats up, Josie discovers that when it comes to matters of the heart–and the office–the biggest surprises lie closest to home.

Latitudes of Longing by Shubhangi Swarup

A sweeping, lyrical debut about the love and longing between humanity and the earth itself, by a major new literary talent from India.

Shiner by Amy Jo Burns

On a lush mountaintop trapped in time, two women vow to protect each other at all costs-and one young girl must defy her father to survive.

My Mother’s House by Francesca Momplaisir

For fans of Edwidge Danticat, Mehsin Hamid, Kate Atkinson, and Jesmyn Ward: a literary thriller about the complex underbelly of the immigrant American dream and the dangerous ripple effect one person’s damages can have on the lives of others–told unexpectedly by a house that has held unspeakable horrors

Catherine House by Elisabeth Thomas

A gothic-infused debut of literary suspense, set within a secluded, elite university and following a dangerously curious, rebellious undergraduate who uncovers a shocking secret about an exclusive circle of students . . . and the dark truth beneath her school’s promise of prestige.

The Library of Legends by Janie Chang

From the author of Three Souls and Dragon Springs Road comes a captivating historical novel—the third in a loosely-connected trilogy—in which a young woman travels across China with a convoy of student refugees, fleeing the hostilities of a brutal war with Japan.

Beach Read by Emily Henry

A romance writer who no longer believes in love and a literary writer stuck in a rut engage in a summer-long challenge that may just upend everything they believe about happily ever afters.

Real Men Knit by Kwana Jackson

When their foster-turned-adoptive mother suddenly dies, four brothers struggle to keep open the doors of her beloved Harlem knitting shop.

These Women by Ivy Pochoda

From the award-winning author of Wonder Valley and Visitation Street comes a serial killer story like you’ve never seen before—a literary thriller of female empowerment and social change.

The Wife Stalker by Liv Constantine

The bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish returns with a psychological thriller, filled with chilling serpentine twists, about a woman fighting to hold onto the only family she’s ever loved—and how far she’ll go to preserve it.

%d bloggers like this: