TOP

Most Anticipated Summer 2021 Sci-Fi and Fantasy Books

There are a ton of great science fiction and fantasy books in store for Summer 2021.  These books are only a dent in the amazing lineup — so if you have any suggestions of titles to add, feel free to drop them in the comments below!

The Shadow in the Glass  JJA Harwood

The Shadow in the Glass by JJA Harwood

A deliciously gothic story of wishes and curses – a new dark fairy tale set against a Victorian backdrop full of lace and smoke.

Firebreak  Nicole Kornher-Stace

Firebreak by Nicole Kornher-Stace

One young woman faces down an all-powerful corporation in this all-too-near future science fiction debut.

Immunity Index  Sue Burke

Immunity Index by Sue Burke

In a US facing growing food shortages, stark inequality, and a growing fascist government, three perfectly normal young women are about to find out that they share a great deal in common.

Sorrowland : A Novel Rivers Solomon

Sorrowland by Rivers Solomon

Vern, seven months pregnant and desperate to escape the strict religious compound where she was raised–flees for the shelter of the woods. There, she gives birth to twins, and plans to raise them far from the influence of the outside world.

The Shadow of the Gods  John Gwynne

The Shadow of the Gods by John Gwynne

From acclaimed fantasy author John Gwynne comes the first in the Bloodsworn trilogy, an epic of wild lands and wilder magic, where not all monsters fight with tooth and claw…and the treasures of the gods come at a price.

A Master of Djinn : a novel P. Djèlí Clark

A Master of Djinn by P. Djèlí Clark

Cairo, 1912: Though Fatma el-Sha’arawi is the youngest woman working for the Ministry of Alchemy, Enchantments and Supernatural Entities, she’s certainly not a rookie, especially after preventing the destruction of the universe last summer.

Son of the Storm  Suyi Davies Okungbowa

Son of the Storm by Suyi Davies Okungbowa

From one of the most exciting new storytellers in epic fantasy, Son of the Stormis a sweeping tale of violent conquest and forgotten magic set in a world inspired by the pre-colonial empires of West Africa.

Day Zero : A Novel C. Robert Cargill

Day Zero by C. Robert Cargill

In this harrowing apocalyptic adventure–from the author of the critically acclaimed Sea of Rust–noted novelist and co-screenwriter of Marvel’s Doctor Strange C. Robert Cargill explores the fight for purpose and agency between humans and robots in a crumbling world.

The Blacktongue Thief  Christopher Buehlman

The Blacktongue Thief by Christopher Buehlman

Set in a world of goblin wars, stag-sized battle ravens, and assassins who kill with deadly tattoos, Christopher Buehlman’s The Blacktongue Thief begins a ‘dazzling’ (Robin Hobb) fantasy adventure unlike any other.

The Kingdoms  Natasha Pulley

The Kingdoms by Natasha Pulley

For fans of The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle and David Mitchell, a genre bending, time twisting alternative history that asks whether it’s worth changing the past to save the future, even if it costs you everyone you’ve ever loved.

For the Wolf  Hannah Whitten

For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten

The first daughter is for the Throne.
The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark, sweeping debut fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

The Library of the Dead  T. L. Huchu

The Library of the Dead by T. L. Huchu

Sixth Sense meets Stranger Things in T. L. Huchu’s The Library of the Dead, a sharp contemporary fantasy following a precocious and cynical teen as she explores the shadowy magical underside of modern Edinburgh.

The Chosen and the Beautiful  Nghi Vo

The Chosen and the Beautiful by Nghi Vo

Nghi Vo’s debut novel The Chosen and the Beautiful reinvents this classic of the American canon as a coming-of-age story full of magic, mystery, and glittering excess.

Hollow  Brian Catling

Hollow by Brian Catling

From the author of the Vorrh Trilogy comes an epic odyssey following a group of mercenaries hired to deliver a church’s ultimate power–a sacred oracle–as the decadence of carnival gives way to the gravity of lent and the mystic landscape grows ravenous.

The Wolf and the Woodsman : A Novel Ava Reid

The Wolf and the Woodsman by Ava Reid

Inspired by Hungarian history and Jewish mythology–follows a young pagan woman with hidden powers and a one-eyed captain of the Woodsmen as they form an unlikely alliance to thwart a tyrant.

The Jasmine Throne  Tasha Suri

The Jasmine Throne by Tasha Suri

A long-imprisoned princess and a maidservant in possession of forbidden magic come together to rewrite the fate of an empire.

The World Gives Way : A Novel Marissa Levien

The World Gives Way by Marissa Levien

In a near-future world on the brink of collapse, a young woman born into servitude must seize her own freedom.

The Witness for the Dead  Katherine Addison

The Witness for the Dead by Katherine Addison

When the young half-goblin emperor Maia sought to learn who had set the bombs that killed his father and half-brothers, he turned to an obscure resident of his father’s Court, a Prelate of Ulis and a Witness for the Dead. Thara Celehar found the truth, though it did him no good to discover it. He lost his place as a retainer of his cousin the former Empress, and made far too many enemies among the many factions vying for power in the new Court. The favor of the Emperor is a dangerous coin.

Star Eater  Kerstin Hall

Star Eater by Kerstin Hall

A phantasmagorical indictment of hereditary power, Star Eater takes readers deep into a perilous and uncanny world where even the most powerful women are forced to choose what sacrifices they will make, so that they might have any choice at all.

Capture the Crown : A Novel Jennifer Estep

Capture the Crown by Jennifer Estep

Bestselling author Jennifer Estep returns to her Crown of Shards world with an all-new trilogy and a bold new heroine who protects her kingdom from magic, murder, and mayhem by moonlighting as a spy.

Notes from the Burning Age  Claire North

Notes from the Burning Age by Claire North

From the award-winning author of The Sudden Appearance of Hope and The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August comes a story exploring humankind’s ability to change the paths we seem fated to follow–even after the world has burned.

The Empire's Ruin  Brian Staveley

The Empire's Ruin by Brian Staveley

Brian Staveley, author of The Emperor’s Blades, gives readers the first book in a new epic fantasy trilogy based in the world of his popular series the Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne, The Empire’s Ruin.

The Annurian Empire is disintegrating. The advantages it used for millennia have fallen to ruin. The ranks of the Kettral have been decimated from within, and the kenta gates, granting instantaneous travel across the vast lands of the empire, can no longer be used.

Half Sick of Shadows  Laura Sebastian

Half Sick of Shadows by Laura Sebastian

The Lady of Shalott reclaims her story in this bold feminist reimagining of the Arthurian myth from the New York Times bestselling author of Ash Princess.

A Psalm for the Wild-Built  Becky Chambers

A Psalm for the Wild-Built by Becky Chambers

It’s been centuries since the robots of Panga gained self-awareness and laid down their tools; centuries since they wandered, en masse, into the wilderness, never to be seen again; centuries since they faded into myth and urban legend.

The Final Girl Support Group  Grady Hendrix

The Final Girl Support Group by Grady Hendrix

In horror movies, the final girl is the one who’s left standing when the credits roll. The one who fought back, defeated the killer, and avenged her friends. The one who emerges bloodied but victorious. But after the sirens fade and the audience moves on, what happens to her?

She Who Became the Sun  Shelley Parker-Chan

She Who Became the Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan

Mulan meets The Song of Achilles in Shelley Parker-Chan’s She Who Became the Sun, a bold, queer, and lyrical reimagining of the rise of the founding emperor of the Ming Dynasty from an amazing new voice in literary fantasy.

Shallow Waters : A Novel Anita Kopacz

Shallow Waters by Anita Kopacz

In this stirring and lyrical debut novel–perfect for fans of The Water Dancerand the Legacy of Orisha series–the Yoruban deity of the sea, Yemaya, is brought to vivid life as a young woman discovers the power of Black resilience, love, and feminine strength during the Atlantic slave trade.

Holdout : A Novel Jeffrey Kluger

Holdout by Jeffrey Kluger

When evil forces are going unchecked on Earth, a principled astronaut makes a spilt-second decision to try to seek justice in the only place she knows how—the International Space Station.

The Sisters of Reckoning  Charlotte Nicole Davis

The Sisters of Reckoning by Charlotte Nicole Davis

The Sisters of Reckoning is the blockbuster sequel to Charlotte Nicole Davis’s alternate Old West-set fantasy adventure.

The Good Luck Girls are free. Aster’s sister and friends have new lives across the border in Ferron, while Aster remains in Arketta, helping more girls escape. But news of a new welcome house opening fills Aster with a need to do more than just help individual girls. And an unexpected reunion gives her an idea of how to do it. From there, grows a wildly ambitious plan to free all dustbloods, who live as prisoners to Arketta’s landmasters and debt slavery.

Shadows of Eternity  Gregory Benford

Shadows of Eternity by Gregory Benford

Shadows of Eternity is legendary author Gregory Benford’s return to interstellar science fiction as a discovery within the SETI library on the moon turns out to be deadly.

Shadows of Eternity is a novel set two centuries from now. Humanity has established a SETI library on the moon to decipher and interpret the many messages from alien societies we have discovered. The most intriguing messages are from complete artificial intelligences.

Wildwood Whispers  Willa Reece

Wildwood Whispers by Willa Reece

A heartwarming and quietly moving novel of hope, fate, and folk magic unfolds when a young woman travels to a sleepy southern town in the Appalachian Mountains to bury her best friend.

The Endless Skies  Shannon Price

The Endless Skies by Shannon Price

Is a breakout standalone epic fantasy about shapeshifting warriors perfect for fans of Adrienne Young and Wonder Woman.

High above the sea, floats the pristine city of the Heliana. Home to winged-lion shapeshifters–the Leonodai–and protected from the world of humans by an elite group of warriors, the Heliana has only known peace.

Are you looking forward to any of these books?

What science fiction and fantasy books are you looking forward to in 2021?  What books would you add to the list?