BiblioLifestyle - The 21 Most Anticipated Summer 2022 Sci-Fi, Fantasy & Horror Books

Most Anticipated Books

The 21 Most Anticipated Summer 2022 Sci-Fi, Fantasy & Horror Books

These books are only a dent in the amazing lineup.

Summer 2022 Sci-Fi Fantasy Books

Summertime is the perfect time to catch up on your reading, and if you’re a fan of sci-fi, fantasy, or horror novels, then you’re in luck.  Here are some of the most anticipated books for summer 2022.  Whether you’re looking for a new thriller to keep you on the edge of your seat or a mind-bending science-fiction epic to lose yourself in, these books have something for everyone.  So sit back, relax, and get ready to add some amazing new titles to your reading list!

Best Sci-Fi Fantasy Books

Black Tide by KC Jones

A debut character-driven science fiction/horror blend, Black Tide is Cujo meets A Quiet Place.

Juniper & Thorn by Ava Reid

From highly acclaimed bestselling author Ava Reid comes a gothic horror retelling of The Juniper Tree, set in another time and place within the world of The Wolf and the Woodsman, where a young witch seeks to discover her identity and escape the domination of her abusive wizard father, perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson and Catherynne M. Valente. 

The City Inside by Samit Basu

This near-future epic by the internationally celebrated Samit Basu pulls no punches as it comes for your anxieties about society, government, the environment, and our world at large—yet never loses sight of the hopeful potential of the future.

Her Majesty’s Royal Coven by Juno Dawson

A Discovery of Witches meets The Craft in this the first installmant of this epic fantasy trilogy about a group of childhood friends who are also witches. 

The Final Strife by Saara El-Arifi

In the first book of a visionary African and Arabian-inspired fantasy trilogy, three women band together against a cruel Empire that divides people by blood.

Must Read Sci-Fi Fantasy Books

The Ballad of Perilous Graves by Alex Jennings

In a fantastical version of New Orleans where music is magic, a battle for the city’s soul brews between two young mages, a vengeful wraith, and one powerful song in this vibrant and imaginative debut.

The Night Shift by Natalka Burian

A plot-driven novel about a young bartender when she’s introduced to shortcuts – a passage that bends time and space – forcing her to finally confront her family loss and trauma that’s overshadowed her life. Only by traveling into the past can Jean discover a happy future…

August Kitko and the Mechas from Space by Alex White

When an army of giant robot AIs threatens to devastate Earth, a virtuoso pianist becomes humanity’s last hope in this bold, lightning-paced, technicolor new space opera series from the author of A Big Ship at the Edge of the Universe.

Dark Earth by Rebecca Stott

A captivating novel about two sisters fighting for survival in male-dominated Dark Ages Britain that weaves a thrilling spell of magic and myth—from a bestselling author and historian.

The Daughter of Doctor Moreau by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

From the New York Times bestselling author of Mexican Gothic and Velvet Was the Night comes a dreamy reimagining of The Island of Doctor Moreau set against the backdrop of nineteenth-century Mexico.

Summer Sci-Fi Fantasy Books

Old Country by Matt Query, Harrison Query

Based on the Reddit sensation, a horror thriller about a former Marine and his wife who buy a perfectly secluded ranch, only to discover it’s haunted by a malevolent spirit.

The Book of Gothel by Mary McMyne

Everyone knows the story of Rapunzel in the tower, but do you know the story of the witch who put her there? Told from her own perspective, The Book of Gothel is a lush, historical retelling filled with dark magic, crumbling towers, mysterious woods, and evil princes. This is the truth they never wanted you to know, as only a witch might tell it.

Into the Broken Lands by Tanya Huff

From sci-fi and fantasy master Tanya Huff comes a new epic fantasy saga set in a land of dangers and mysteries. 

Small Angels by Lauren Owen

A wedding in a small English village attracts a malicious spirit, forcing secrets from the deep past and troubled present out into the open—a hypnotic tale of sisterhood, first love, and hauntings from the acclaimed author of The Quick.

The Art of Prophecy by Wesley Chu

An epic fantasy ode to martial arts and magic—the story of a spoiled hero, an exacting grandmaster, and an immortal god-king from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Lives of Tao.

Sci-Fi Fantasy Book List

The Monsters We Defy by Leslye Penelope

A woman able to communicate with spirits must assemble a ragtag crew to pull off a daring heist to save her community in this timely and dazzling historical fantasy that weaves together African American folk magic, history, and romance.

The Oleander Sword by Tasha Suri

The Jasmine Throne has been hailed as a series opener that will “undoubtedly reshape the landscape of epic fantasy for years to come” (Booklist, starred). Now, award-winning author Tasha Suri’s provocative and powerful Burning Kingdoms trilogy continues with The Oleander Sword.

The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches by Sangu Mandanna

A warm and uplifting novel about an isolated witch whose opportunity to embrace a quirky new family—and a new love—changes the course of her life.

Reluctant Immortals by Gwendolyn Kiste

For fans of Mexican Gothic, from three-time Bram Stoker Award–winning author Gwendolyn Kiste comes a novel inspired by the untold stories of forgotten women in classic literature—from Lucy Westnera, a victim of Stoker’s Dracula, and Bertha Mason, Mr. Rochester’s attic-bound wife in Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre—as they band together to combat the toxic men bent on destroying their lives, set against the backdrop of the Summer of Love, Haight-Ashbury, 1967.

The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy by Megan Bannen

Hart Ralston is a marshal, tasked with patrolling the wasteland of Tanria, hunting for drudges. It’s an unforgiving job, and Hart’s got nothing but time to ponder his loneliness.

The Spear Cuts Through Water by Simon Jimenez

A reluctant warrior on the run with an ancient goddess through a lush world full of wild magic, wondrous creatures, and hidden enemies has only five days to end an oppressive Emperor’s reign in this beautiful epic fantasy from the author of The Vanished Birds.

Are you looking forward to any of these books?

What science fiction, fantasy, and horror books are you looking forward to in 2022?  What books would you add to the list?

Book List - Summer 2022 Sci-Fi, Fantasy & Horror Books

+ show Comments

- Hide Comments

add a comment

Leave a Reply

oh so popular

A once-weekly e-newsletter to inspire your desire to read and live a life filled with books.

TERMS 
PRIVACY 
COPYRIGHT
EDITORIAL
ADVERTISE
ABOUT
CONTACT
DISCLAIMER

BIBLIOLIFESTYLE

follow along on social:

© 2020 - 2022  THE BIBLIO GROUP, LLC  |  BIBLIOLIFESTYLE  |  

SEND ME A NOTE >

GET ON THE LIST >

@BIBLIOLIFESTYLE >

Links to third-party sites may include affiliate links.  As a Bookshop, Amazon and Libro.fm Affiliate, BiblioLifestyle earns from qualifying purchases at no additional cost to you.

affiliate

[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
%d bloggers like this: