fbpx

Cozy Mysteries

The Best Cozy Mysteries of 2023

These cozy mysteries will take you on captivating journeys into worlds full of danger and delight.

Last Updated on December 20, 2023 by BiblioLifestyle

More Books of The Best 2023 Cozy Mysteries To Read

Are you searching for the perfect cozy mysteries to get lost in?  Cozy mysteries are a wonderful way to pass the time, as they give all their readers a sense of fun and adventure.  From small-town dramas to stories full of mystery and intrigue, there are enough cozy mystery books out there to keep even the most avid reader content!  To help narrow your list of options, we’ve put together some of our favorite 2023 cozy mysteries that will take you on captivating journeys into worlds full of danger and delight.  So if you’re looking for great books to read, here is a list of the best cozies guaranteed to entertain.

The Best Cozy Mysteries of 2023

  1. Six Sweets Under by Sarah Fox
  2. Of Manners and Murder by Anastasia Hastings
  3. The Golden Spoon by Jessa Maxwell
  4. The Raven Thief by Gigi Pandian
  5. Murder in Postscript by Mary Winters
  6. Mastering the Art of French Murder by Colleen Cambridge
  7. Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers by Jesse Q. Sutanto
  8. Nonna Maria and the Case of the Stolen Necklace by Lorenzo Carcaterra
  9. The Late Mrs. Willoughby by Claudia Gray
  10. Murder on Mustang Beach by Alicia Bessette
  11. A Novel Disguise by Samantha Larsen
  12. Charlotte Illes Is Not a Detective by Katie Siegel
  13. A Most Agreeable Murder by Julia Seales
  14. Mrs. Plansky’s Revenge by Spencer Quinn
  15. Rehearsed to Death by Frank Anthony Polito
  16. Final Cut by Marjorie Mccown
  17. Take the Honey and Run by Jennie Marts
  18. Murder and Mamon by Mia P. Manansala
  19. Murder by Invitation Only by Colleen Cambridge
  20. Murder in an Italian Village by Michael Falco
  21. Baking Spirits Bright by Sarah Fox
Six Sweets Under by Sarah Fox

Six Sweets Under by Sarah Fox

Former actress and budding chocolatier Becca Ransom must solve a murder before she meets a sticky end.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Of Manners and Murder by Anastasia Hastings, A Dear Miss Hermione Mystery

Of Manners and Murder by Anastasia Hastings

When Violet’s Aunt Adelia decides to abscond with her newest paramour, she leaves behind her role as the most popular Agony Aunt in London, “Miss Hermione,” in Violet’s hands.  But Violent discovers that when you represent the best-loved Agony Aunt in Britain, both maurading husbands and murder are par for the course.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Golden Spoon by Jessa Maxwell

The Golden Spoon by Jessa Maxwell

A beguiling locked-room mystery where someone turns up dead on the set of TV’s hottest baking competition.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Raven Thief by Gigi Pandian

The Raven Thief by Gigi Pandian

One murder. Four impossibilities. A fake séance hides a very real crime.

In The Raven Thief, where sliding bookcases, trick tables, and hidden reading nooks hide something much more sinister than the Secret Staircase Construction crew ever imagined.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Murder in Postscript by Mary Winters

Murder in Postscript by Mary Winters

When one of her readers asks for advice following a suspected murder, Victorian countess Amelia Amesbury, who secretly pens the popular Lady Agony column, has no choice but to investigate.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Mastering the Art of French Murder by Colleen Cambridge

Mastering the Art of French Murder by Colleen Cambridge

Set in the City of Light and starring Julia Child’s (fictional) best friend, confidant, and fellow American, this magnifique new historical mystery series combines a fresh perspective on the iconic chef’s years in post-WWII Paris with a delicious mystery and a unique culinary twist.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Vera Wong's Unsolicited Advice for Murderers by Jesse Q. Sutanto

Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers by Jesse Q. Sutanto

A lonely shopkeeper takes it upon herself to solve a murder in the most peculiar way in this captivating mystery.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Nonna Maria and the Case of the Stolen Necklace by Lorenzo Carcaterra

Nonna Maria and the Case of the Stolen Necklace by Lorenzo Carcaterra

Nonna Maria, “one of the most charming amateur sleuths ever created” (Tess Gerritsen), sets out to clear her goddaughter’s name and uncover the checkered past of an unidentifiable victim in this transporting mystery from #1 New York Times bestselling author Lorenzo Carcaterra.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Click here to tune in to the podcast episode with Lorenzo Carcaterra talking about the Nonna Maria series.

The Late Mrs. Willoughby by Claudia Gray

The Late Mrs. Willoughby by Claudia Gray

The suspenseful sequel to The Murder of Mr. Wickham, which sees Jonathan Darcy and Juliet Tilney reunited, and with another mystery to solve: the dreadful poisoning of the scoundrel Willoughby’s new wife.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Late Mrs. Willoughby is one of the books in The 2023 Summer Reading Guide.

Murder on Mustang Beach by Alicia Bessette

Murder on Mustang Beach by Alicia Bessette

When a killer stirs up trouble in the Outer Banks, amateur sleuth and bookseller Callie Padget is on the case, in a new beachside mystery from author Alicia Bessette.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Murder on Mustang Beach is one of the books in The 2023 Summer Reading Guide.

A Novel Disguise by Samantha Larsen

A Novel Disguise by Samantha Larsen

When Miss Tiffany Woodall assumes the identity of her half-brother after his death, she realizes she isn’t the only one with a secret to hide in this historical series debut, perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Sherry Thomas.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

A Novel Disguise is one of the books in The 2023 Summer Reading Guide.

Charlotte Illes Is Not a Detective by Katie Siegel

Charlotte Illes Is Not a Detective by Katie Siegel

For anyone seeking to satisfy their Harriet the Spy or Encyclopedia Brown nostalgia, this modern, witty debut based on the popular @katiefliesaway TikTok series stars a twentysomething former kid detective who’s coaxed out of retirement for one last case.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Charlotte Illes Is Not a Detective is one of the books in The 2023 Summer Reading Guide.

A Most Agreeable Murder by Julia Seales

A Most Agreeable Murder by Julia Seales

When a wealthy bachelor drops dead at a ball, a young lady takes on the decidedly improper role of detective in this action-packed debut comedy of manners and murder.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

A Most Agreeable Murder is one of the books in The 2023 Summer Reading Guide.

Mrs. Plansky's Revenge by Spencer Quinn

Mrs. Plansky’s Revenge by Spencer Quinn

Settling into retirement in Florida, Mrs. Plansky finds herself entangled in a scam that leaves her penniless. Determined to seek justice, she embarks on a thrilling journey to Romania to reclaim her money and restore her dignity.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Rehearsed to Death by Frank Anthony Polito

Rehearsed to Death by Frank Anthony Polito

Hart to Hart via HGTV, this fabulous new quozy (queer cozy) mystery series by award-winning author and playwright Frank Anthony Polito’s features a gay couple who solve crimes while renovating houses in suburban Detroit as part of their hit reality show Domestic Partners. Now, their foray into community theater proves a major risk thanks to some deadly improvisation . . .

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Rehearsed to Death is one of the books in The 2023 Summer Reading Guide.

Final Cut by Marjorie Mccown

Final Cut by Marjorie Mccown

Perfect for fans of Elle Cosimano and Nita Prose, when Hollywood costumer Joey Jessop stumbles across a dead body near the set of a big budget movie, she must find ways to protect her career—and herself—before it’s too late.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Take the Honey and Run by Jennie Marts

Take the Honey and Run by Jennie Marts

When a murder shocks the town in Jennie Marts’ debut cozy mystery, Bailey Briggs, a successful mystery author, finds herself in the midst of a real-life crime. With her beekeeping grandmother as the prime suspect, Bailey must put her fictional detective skills to use and uncover the truth. With the help of her witty best friend, meddling aunts, and The Hive book club members, Bailey is determined to catch the clever culprit and clear her grandmother’s name. Aided by an ominous threat, she won’t back down until justice is served.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Murder and Mamon by Mia P. Manansala

Murder and Mamon by Mia P. Manansala

When murder mars the grand opening for Lila Macapagal’s aunties’ new laundromat, she will have to air out all the dirty laundry in Shady Palms to catch a killer…

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Murder and Mamon is one of the books in The 2023 Fall Reading Guide.

Murder by Invitation Only by Colleen Cambridge

Murder by Invitation Only by Colleen Cambridge

In this engaging historical mystery, Agatha Christie’s ever-capable housekeeper, Phyllida Bright, not only keeps the celebrated author’s English country home in tip-top shape, she excels as an amateur sleuth. But when a murder-themed game goes awry, can she outfox the guilty party?

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Murder by Invitation Only is one of the books in The 2023 Fall Reading Guide.

Murder in an Italian Village by Michael Falco

Murder in an Italian Village by Michael Falco

The first in a transporting new cozy mystery series set in beautiful Positano, Italy, as a widowed B&B owner discovers a body in one of her bedrooms before opening day…  Perfect for fans of Mario Giordano and Lorenzo Carcaterra!

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Murder in an Italian Village is one of the books in The 2023 Fall Reading Guide.

Baking Spirits Bright by Sarah Fox

Baking Spirits Bright by Sarah Fox

In a cute new culinary cozy from USA Today bestselling author Sarah Fox, budding chocolatier Becca Ransom must solve a murder before she meets a sticky end.

BUY ON AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Click here to tune in to the podcast episode with Sarah Fox talking about the Baking Spirits Bright and all things holidays.

What do you think about these best cozy mysteries of 2023?

Have you read any books from this list?  What are your favorite cozy mysteries of 2023?  What books would you add to the list?  Let’s talk about all things cozy mysteries in the comments below.

+ show Comments

- Hide Comments

add a comment

Leave a Reply

so hot right now

Free Guide!

get the guide

With the cold weather rolling in, it's time to find a warm spot and cozy up with a good book. So if you're looking for the best new books of the season, this guide is just for you.

The 2024 Winter Reading Guide has twenty-one new releases organized across six categories. You’ll also find some fun things to do at home, winter-themed recipes, plus more.

Download The 2024 Winter Guide

error: Content is protected !!