fbpx

Book Lists

Enchanting Witch Books That Are Simply Spellbinding

A combination of fiction and nonfiction that feature strong and defiant women.

Last Updated on April 19, 2024 by BiblioLifestyle

witch books to read

Witches are nothing short of fascinating!  They have been feared and revered throughout history and continue to hold a certain allure for many people.  So if you’re looking for spellbinding witch books, look no further than this list.  From sympathetic witches who use their powers for good to wicked witches who bring terror to the small towns they live in, these books will keep you mesmerized from beginning to end.  So light a few candles, brew yourself a cup of tea, and get ready to sink into the world of witchcraft.  Here are thirteen spellbinding witch books that you won’t be able to put down!

17 Witch Books That Are Spellbinding

The Witching Tide by Margaret Meyer

The Witching Tide by Margaret Meyer

For readers of Margaret Atwood and Hilary Mantel, an immersive literary debut inspired by historical events—a deadly witch hunt in 17th-century England—that claimed many innocent lives.

The Year of Witching by Alexis Henderson

A young woman living in a rigid, puritanical society discovers dark powers within herself in this stunning, feminist fantasy debut.

A Box of Magick by Jamie Della

A Box of Magick by Jamie Della

Discover the Magick that lives within you. A Box of Magick shares seeds of magickal wisdom and shows us how to turn them into a blossoming, evolving magickal life, spiced with the essence of our own unique spirit.

The Once and Future Witches by Alix E. Harrow

In the late 1800s, three sisters use witchcraft to change the course of history in Alix E. Harrow’s powerful novel of magic and the suffragette movement.

Voodoo Queen by Martha Ward

Each year, thousands of pilgrims visit the celebrated New Orleans tomb where Marie Laveau is said to lie. They seek her favors or fear her lingering influence. Voodoo Queen: The Spirited Lives of Marie Laveau is the first study of the Laveaus, mother and daughter of the same name. Both were legendary leaders of religious and spiritual traditions many still label as evil.

Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman

For more than two hundred years, the Owens women have been blamed for everything that has gone wrong in their Massachusetts town. Gillian and Sally have endured that fate as well: as children, the sisters were forever outsiders, taunted, talked about, pointed at.

The Witches of Eastwick

The Witches of Eastwick by John Updike

In a small New England town in the late 1960s, there lived three witches Alexandra Spoffard, sculptress, could create thunderstorms. Jane Smart, a cellist, could fly. The local gossip columnist, Sukie Rougemont, could turn milk into cream.  Divorced but hardly celibate, content but always ripe for adventure, our three wonderful witches one day found themselves quite under the spell of the new man in town, Darryl Van Horne, whose hot tub was the scene of some rather bewitching delights.

The Mercies by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

After the men in an Arctic Norwegian town are wiped out, the women must survive a sinister threat. Inspired by the real events of the Vardø storm and the 1621 witch trials, The Mercies is a story of love, evil, and obsession, set at the edge of civilization.

A Secret History of Witches by Louise Morgan

A sweeping historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters — witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift.

Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron

A girl with no gifts must bargain for the power to fight her own mother’s dark schemes — even if the price is her life. Crackling with dark magic, unspeakable betrayal, and daring twists you won’t see coming, this explosive YA fantasy debut is a can’t-miss, high-stakes epic.

The Midnight Bargain by C.L. Polk

From the beloved World Fantasy Award-winning author of Witchmark comes a sweeping, romantic new fantasy set in a world reminiscent of Regency England, where women’s magic is taken from them when they marry. A sorceress must balance her desire to become the first great female magician against her duty to her family.

The Witch’s Daughter by Paula Brackston

An enthralling tale of modern witch Bess Hawksmith, a fiercely independent woman desperate to escape her cursed history who must confront the evil which has haunted her for centuries.

Wicked by Gregory Maguire

Brilliantly inventive, Wicked offers a radical new portrait of one of the most feared and despised villains in all of literature: the universally maligned Wicked Witch of the West who, in Maguire’s imaginative retelling, isn’t nearly as black-hearted as we imagined.

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

Affectionately dubbed “the Nigerian Harry Potter,” Akata Witch weaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding one’s place in the world.

The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent

Salem, 1752. Sarah Carrier Chapman, weak with infirmity, writes a letter to her granddaughter that reveals the secret she has closely guarded for six decades: how she survived the Salem Witch Trials when her mother did not.

I, Tituba, Black Witch of Salem by Maryse Condé

This wild and entertaining novel expands on the true story of the West Indian slave Tituba, who was accused of witchcraft in Salem, Massachusetts, arrested in 1692, and forgotten in jail until the general amnesty for witches two years later.

The Witching Year by Diana Helmuth

The Witching Year by Diana Helmuth

A skeptic’s year-long quest to find spiritual fulfillment through modern Witchcraft follows in the footsteps of celebrated memoirs by journalists like A.J. Jacobs, Mary Roach, and Caitlin Doughty, who knit humor and reportage together in search of something worth believing.

What do you think about the witch books on this list?

Have you read any books from this list?  Do you have any witch books on your TBR?  What is your favorite witchy book?

RELATED WITCH BOOK LISTS

must read witch books

+ show Comments

- Hide Comments

add a comment

Leave a Reply

so hot right now

Free Guide!

get the guide

Summer is a time for relaxation, adventure, and exploration.  So if you're looking for the best new books of the season, this guide is just for you.

The 2024 Summer Reading Guide has forty-five new releases organized across eight categories. You’ll also find some fun things to do at home, summer-themed recipes, plus more.

Download The 2024 Summer Reading Guide

error: Content is protected !!