BiblioLifestyle - 2022 Translated Books by Women Writers

Translated Books

2022 Translated Books by Women Writers

Translated books allow us to be more inclusive of writers from different backgrounds.

2022 Translated Books by Women Writers

August is Women in Translation (WIT) Month.  Launched in 2014 by Meytal Radzinski, WIT Month was created in response to Radzinski’s observation that only 30% of books published in translation were by women.  Translated works allow us to be more inclusive of writers from different cultural, ethnic, and linguistic backgrounds.  Over the years, Radzinski has included and emphasized works from marginalized women (and transgender, nonbinary, or intersex) writers.

You can support and participate in WIT Month by reading, sharing, and discussing books by women in translation.  Suggest these books to your library and book clubs, gift them to your friends and family and share them on social media.  To help you get started, we curated a list of 2022 books by women in translation!

 

RELATED: 2021 Translated Books by Women Writers

10 Books by Women in Translation for WITMonth

The Antarctica of Love by Sara Stridsberg, Translated by Deborah Bragan-Turner

The Antarctica of Love by Sara Stridsberg, Translated by Deborah Bragan-Turner

A heartrending novel of life after death, Sara Stridsberg’s The Antarctica of Love is an unflinching testament of a woman on the margins, a tale of family lost and found, a report of a murder in the voice of the victim, and a story that brims with unexpected tenderness and hope.

Strangers I Know by Claudia Durastanti, Translated by Elizabeth Harris

Strangers I Know by Claudia Durastanti, Translated by Elizabeth Harris

A work of fiction about being a stranger in your own family and life. This book is a funny and profound portrait of an unconventional family that makes us look anew at how language shapes our understanding of ourselves.

The Books of Jacob by Olga Tokarczuk, Translated by Jennifer Croft

The Books of Jacob by Olga Tokarczuk, Translated by Jennifer Croft

The Nobel Prize-winner’s richest, most sweeping and ambitious novel yet follows the comet-like rise and fall of a mysterious, messianic religious leader as he blazes his way across eighteenth-century Europe.

The Last Wild Horses by Maja Lunde, Translated by Diane Oatley

The Last Wild Horses by Maja Lunde, Translated by Diane Oatley

Translated into 40 languages, winner of the Norwegian Bookseller’s Prize, and the most successful Norwegian author of her generation, Maja Lunde returns with a heart-wrenching tale, set in the distant past and the dystopian future, about extinction and survival, family and hope.

The Resting Place by Camilla Sten, Translated by Alexandra Fleming

The Resting Place by Camilla Sten, Translated by Alexandra Fleming

Crimson Peak meets The Sanatorium in The Resting Place, a heart-thumping, unforgettable novel of horror and suspense.

Bitter Orange Tree by Jokha Alharthi, Translated by Marilyn Booth

Bitter Orange Tree by Jokha Alharthi, Translated by Marilyn Booth

An extraordinary novel from a Man Booker International Prize-winning author that follows one young Omani woman as she builds a life for herself in Britain and reflects on the relationships that have made her.

Grown Ups by Marie Aubert, Translated by Rosie Hedger

Grown Ups by Marie Aubert, Translated by Rosie Hedger

A whip-smart novel about modern motherhood and sibling rivalry, from one of Norway’s rising stars–perfect for fans of Emma Straub and the films of Greta Gerwig!

Swanfolk by Kristin Omarsdottir, Translated by Vala Thorodds

Swanfolk by Kristin Omarsdottir, Translated by Vala Thorodds

Like a modern Midsummer Night’s Dream, an ethereal and haunting novel about a young spy who enchanted by a species of half-swan, half-human creatures–an obsession that ultimately leads her to question her own existence–and sanity.

Dogs of Summer by Andrea Abreu, Translated by Julia Sanches

Dogs of Summer by Andrea Abreu, Translated by Julia Sanches

My Brilliant Friend meets Blue is the Warmest Color in this lyrical debut novel set in a working-class neighborhood of the Canary Islands–a story about two girls coming of age in the early aughts and a friendship that simmers into erotic desire over the course of one hot summer.

The Impatient by Djaili Amadou Amal, Translated by Emma Ramadan

The Impatient by Djaili Amadou Amal, Translated by Emma Ramadan

A powerful, heartrending, and insightful novel of a trio of women in Cameroon who dare to rebel against oppressive, long-held cultural traditions–including polygamy and domestic abuse–that define and limit their lives.

The Threshold by Iman Mersal, Translated by Robyn Creswell

The Threshold by Iman Mersal, Translated by Robyn Creswell

A selection of luminous, fiercely intelligent verse from Egypt’s premier poet.

Seven Empty Houses by Samanta Schweblin, Translated by Megan McDowell

Seven Empty Houses by Samanta Schweblin, Translated by Megan McDowell

The seven houses in these seven stories are empty. Some are devoid of love or life or furniture, of people or the truth or of memories. But in Samanta Schweblin’s tense, visionary tales, something always creeps back in: a ghost, a fight, trespassers, a list of things to do before you die, a child’s first encounter with a dark choice or the fallibility of parents.

Strega by Johanne Lykke Holm, Translated by Saskia Vogel

Strega by Johanne Lykke Holm, Translated by Saskia Vogel

Powerfully inventive and atmospheric, a modern gothic story of nine young women sent to work at a remote Alpine hotel and what happens when one of them goes missing.

What do you think of these translated books by women writers?

Have you read any of these books by women in translation?  What are some of your favorite translated works written by women?  Let me know your thoughts, ideas, and suggestions about books by women in translation in the comments below!

Book List - 2022 Translated Books by Women Writers

+ show Comments

- Hide Comments

add a comment

Leave a Reply

oh so popular

A once-weekly e-newsletter to inspire your desire to read and live a life filled with books.

TERMS 
PRIVACY 
COPYRIGHT
EDITORIAL
ADVERTISE
ABOUT
CONTACT
DISCLAIMER

BIBLIOLIFESTYLE

follow along on social:

© 2020 - 2022  THE BIBLIO GROUP, LLC  |  BIBLIOLIFESTYLE  |  

SEND ME A NOTE >

GET ON THE LIST >

@BIBLIOLIFESTYLE >

Links to third-party sites may include affiliate links.  As a Bookshop, Amazon and Libro.fm Affiliate, BiblioLifestyle earns from qualifying purchases at no additional cost to you.

affiliate

[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
%d bloggers like this: