fbpx

Book Lists

16 Books About Librarians

These books are perfect for anyone who loves libraries and all the amazing work that librarians do daily.

Last Updated on April 19, 2024 by BiblioLifestyle

Books About Librarians

Librarians have always been important members of our society.  They help us find the information we need, keep us organized, and fight for our right to read.  If you’re looking for books about librarians, then you’re in luck!  These novels are perfect for anyone who loves libraries and all the amazing work that librarians do daily.

The Library Book by Susan Orlean

The Library Book by Susan Orlean

A dazzling love letter to a beloved institution—and an investigation into one of its greatest mysteries—from the bestselling author hailed as a “national treasure” by The Washington Post.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Personal Librarian by Marie Benedict, Victoria Christopher Murray

The Personal Librarian by Marie Benedict, Victoria Christopher Murray

The remarkable, little-known story of Belle da Costa Greene, J. P. Morgan’s personal librarian—who became one of the most powerful women in New York despite the dangerous secret she kept in order to make her dreams come true, from New York Times bestselling author Marie Benedict and acclaimed author Victoria Christopher Murray.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

The iconic time travel love story and mega-bestselling first novel from Audrey Niffenegger is “a soaring celebration of the victory of love over time” (Chicago Tribune).

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Librarian of Burned Books by Brianna Labuskes

The Librarian of Burned Books by Brianna Labuskes

For fans of The Rose Code and The Paris Library, The Librarian of Burned Books is a captivating WWII-era novel about the intertwined fates of three women who believe in the power of books to triumph over the very darkest moments of war.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Listen to Victoria’s interview with Brianna Labuskes about her novel, The Librarian of Burned Books.

The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern

The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world–a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Giver of Stars by Jojo Moyes

The Giver of Stars by Jojo Moyes

Set in Depression-era America, a breathtaking story of five extraordinary women and their remarkable journey through the mountains of Kentucky and beyond, from the author of Me Before You and The Peacock Emporium.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The War Librarian by Addison Armstrong

The War Librarian by Addison Armstrong

The Paris Library meets The Flight Girls in this captivating historical novel about the sacrifice and courage necessary to live a life of honor, inspired by the first female volunteer librarians during World War I and the first women accepted into the U.S. Naval Academy.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

’Between life and death there is a library, and within that library, the shelves go on forever.  Every book provides a chance to try another life you could have lived.  To see how things would be if you had made other choices…Would you have done anything different if you had the chance to undo your regrets?’  A dazzling novel about all the choices that go into a life well lived.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Last Chance Library by Freya Sampson

The Last Chance Library by Freya Sampson

June Jones emerges from her shell to fight for her beloved local library, and through the efforts and support of an eclectic group of library patrons, she discovers life-changing friendships along the way.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

A Book Club to Die For by Dorothy St. James

A Book Club to Die For by Dorothy St. James

When a member of an exclusive book club is checked out, spunky librarian Trudell Becket must sort fact from fiction to solve the murder.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Librarian Spy by Madeline Martin

The Librarian Spy by Madeline Martin

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Bookshop in London comes a moving new novel inspired by the true history of America’s library spies of World War Two.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

With Love from London by Sarah Jio

With Love from London by Sarah Jio

A librarian inherits a bookshop from her estranged mother, leading her halfway across the world on a journey of self-discovery that transcends time and honors the unbreakable bonds of love and family.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Ink and Shadows by Ellery Adams

Ink and Shadows by Ellery Adams

A cozy mystery featuring librarian-turned-bookseller Nora Pennington with a penchant for bibliotherapy and a sideline in solving crime. While people visit Miracle Springs for healing treatments, it’s Nora who helps them find peace by prescribing the perfect book along with a fresh-baked scone. After all, sometimes the key to happiness, friendship—or solving a murder—can simply be found within the pages of the right book…

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

No Offense by Meg Cabot

No Offense by Meg Cabot

New York Times-bestselling author Meg Cabot’s returns with a charming romance between a children’s librarian and the town sheriff in the second book in the Little Bridge Island series.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Book Spy by Alan Hlad

The Book Spy by Alan Hlad

An American librarian. A Portuguese bookseller. A WWII mission to change the tide of the war. Inspired by true stories of the heroic librarian spies of WWII and spanning from the New York Public Library to Portugal’s city of espionage.

BUY FROM AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

What do you think about these books about librarians?

Have you read any books from this list?  What are your favorite books about librarians or libraries?  What books would you add to the list?

MORE READING:

Books About Librarians

+ show Comments

- Hide Comments

add a comment

Leave a Reply

so hot right now

Free Guide!

get the guide

Summer is a time for relaxation, adventure, and exploration.  So if you're looking for the best new books of the season, this guide is just for you.

The 2024 Summer Reading Guide has forty-five new releases organized across eight categories. You’ll also find some fun things to do at home, summer-themed recipes, plus more.

Download The 2024 Summer Reading Guide

error: Content is protected !!