fbpx

Books Like

7 Books Like and Inspired by Shakespeare

Immerse yourself in compelling tales, reimagined settings, and familiar characters through our curated collection of contemporary literature inspired by the Bard.

Last Updated on February 2, 2024 by BiblioLifestyle

Books Like Shakespeare

Step into the world where sonnets meet smartphones and where the Bard’s timeless tales are reimagined in the pages of contemporary literature. These contemporary masterpieces breathe new life into Shakespearean themes, characters, and settings, inviting readers to experience the timeless magic of the Bard in a fresh and exciting way. So open the pages of one or all of these books and let the words transport you to a world where the echoes of Shakespeare’s brilliance intertwine with the narratives of today. So whether you’re looking for books with love, mystery, drama, or humor, these books like Shakespeare will captivate and inspire.

7 Books Like and Inspired by Shakespeare

The Last True Poets of the Sea by Julia Drake

The Last True Poets of the Sea by Julia Drake

“The Last True Poets of the Sea” is an epic and unforgettable contemporary novel that is a retelling of Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night. The novels follows Violet and her brother Sam as they navigate a family history intertwined with a lost shipwreck. Violet, struggling with partying and Sam’s suicide attempt, is determined to find the shipwreck and make amends. Along the way, she meets Liv, a fellow wreck hunter, and together they embark on a journey of survival and self-discovery. This debut novel is a captivating tale of strength and resilience.

You can get a copy of The Last True Poets of the Sea by Julia Drake on Amazon or Bookshop.

Listen to this quick chat with Julia on the podcast: TBT with The Last True Poets of the Sea by Julia Drake

Two Wrongs Make a Right by Chloe Liese

Two Wrongs Make a Right by Chloe Liese

Jamie and Bea, who couldn’t be more different, team up to deceive their matchmaking friends in this charming retelling of Shakespeare’s “Much Ado About Nothing.” Their plan? Pretend to be madly in love, only to break hearts and end the meddling once and for all. But as their fake romance becomes more convincing, they start questioning if there’s more to their connection than revenge. Will Cupid’s arrow prove to be right after all?

You can get a copy of Two Wrongs Make a Right by Chloe Liese on Amazon or Bookshop.

Shakespeare for Squirrels by Christopher Moore

Shakespeare for Squirrels by Christopher Moore

Shakespeare meets Dashiell Hammett in this wildly entertaining murder mystery from New York Times bestselling author Christopher Moore—an uproarious, hardboiled take on the Bard’s most performed play, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, featuring Pocket, the hero of Fool and The Serpent of Venice, along with his sidekick, Drool, and pet monkey, Jeff.

You can get a copy of Shakespeare for Squirrels by Christopher Moore on Amazon or Bookshop.

Ben and Beatriz by Katalina Gamarra

Ben and Beatriz by Katalina Gamarra

A Latinx, queer retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing in which a queer, biracial young woman must untangle her complicated relationship with the scion of a wealthy, white dynasty, in what becomes a complex and nuanced rumination on race, colorism, class, sexuality, and privilege.

You can get a copy of Ben and Beatriz by Katalina Gamarra on Amazon or Bookshop.

Tastes Like Shakkar by Nisha Sharma

Tastes Like Shakkar by Nisha Sharma

In the hilarious follow-up to the breakout rom-com Dating Dr. Dil, Nisha Sharma adds shakkar and mirch to Shakespeare’s iconic comedy Much Ado About Nothing for one sweet and spicy love story.

You can get a copy of Tastes Like Shakkar by Nisha Sharma on Amazon or Bookshop.

Immortal Longings by Chloe Gong

Immortal Longings by Chloe Gong

An adult epic fantasy debut, inspired by Shakespeare’s Antony and Cleopatra, is a fiery collision of power plays, spilled blood, and romance amidst a set of deadly games.

You can get a copy of Immortal Longings by Chloe Gong on Amazon or Bookshop.

Queen Hereafter by Isabelle Schuler

Queen Hereafter by Isabelle Schuler

A suspenseful, sweeping historical epic for readers of Natalie Haynes and Madeline Miller, which boldly reimagines the origin story of the woman who inspired one of Shakespeare’s most iconic characters, Lady Macbeth.

You can get a copy of Queen Hereafter by Isabelle Schuler on Amazon or Bookshop.

What do you think about these books like Shakespeare?

Have you read any of the books on this list? Are any of them on your TBR? What books would you add to this list? Let’s talk all about books like and inspired by Shakespeare in the comments below.

MORE READING:

Books Like and Inspired by Shakespeare

+ show Comments

- Hide Comments

add a comment

Leave a Reply

so hot right now

Free Guide!

get the guide

Summer is a time for relaxation, adventure, and exploration.  So if you're looking for the best new books of the season, this guide is just for you.

The 2024 Summer Reading Guide has forty-five new releases organized across eight categories. You’ll also find some fun things to do at home, summer-themed recipes, plus more.

Download The 2024 Summer Reading Guide

error: Content is protected !!