BiblioLifestyle - Books Set in Los Angeles

Armchair Travel

Books Set in Los Angeles

These books will take you on a literary journey through the City of Angels.

Los Angeles Book List

There’s something about reading a book that takes you to another place, even better if that other place is your favorite city.  So if you’re looking for books set in Los Angeles to add to your reading list, look no further.  From murder mysteries to romance novels, these books will take you on a literary journey through the City of Angels.  So grab a latte, sit back, and get ready for some serious Angeleno escapism.

Dear Los Angeles : The City in Diaries and Letters, 1542 to 2018 David Kipen (Edited by)

Dear Los Angeles by David Kipen

A rich mosaic of diary entries and letters from Marilyn Monroe, Cesar Chavez, Susan Sontag, Albert Einstein, and many more, this is the story of Los Angeles as told by locals, transplants, and some just passing through.
The Hunt : A Novel Faye Kellerman

The Hunt by Faye Kellerman

Detective Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus return to Los Angeles when a kidnapping hits close to home.

Adult Assembly Required  Abbi Waxman

Adult Assembly Required by Abbi Waxman

A young woman arrives in Los Angeles determined to start over and discovers she doesn’t need to leave everything behind after all, from Abbi Waxman, USA Today bestselling author of The Bookish Life of Nina Hill. 

Mimi Lee Gets a Clue  Jennifer J. Chow

Mimi Lee Gets a Clue by Jennifer J. Chow

Mimi Lee is in over her head. There’s her new Los Angeles pet grooming shop to run, her matchmaking mother to thwart, her talking cat Marshmallow to tend to–oh, and the murder of a local breeder to solve…now if only Mimi hadn’t landed herself on top of the suspect list.

Lurkers  Sandi Tan

Lurkers by Sandi Tan

If You Lived Here You'd Be Famous by Now : True Stories from Calabasas Via Bleidner

If You Lived Here You'd Be Famous by Now by Via Bleidner

If You Lived Here You’d Be Famous by Now is an insider’s collection of funny and warmhearted stories about coming of age in the Los Angeles suburb famed for birthing the Kardashian-Jenners and the Bling Ring.

L.A. Weather : A Novel María Amparo Escandón

L.A. Weather by María Amparo Escandón

The Perishing : A Novel Natashia Deón

The Perishing by Natashia Deón

A Black immortal in 1930’s Los Angeles must recover the memory of her past in order to discover who she truly is in this extraordinarily affecting novel for readers of N. K. Jemisin and Octavia E. Butler.

In the Face of the Sun  Denny S. Bryce

In the Face of the Sun by Denny S. Bryce

In this haunting novel, the author of Wild Women and the Blues weaves together two stories as they unfold decades apart, as a woman on the run from an abusive husband joins her intrepid aunt as they head across the country from Chicago to Los Angeles, and confront a painful and shadowy past that has reverberated across generations.

Pretty Baby : A Memoir Chris Belcher

Pretty Baby by Chris Belcher

A queer teen rebel escapes small-town Appalachia and becomes Los Angeles’s Renowned Lesbian Dominatrix in this searing and darkly funny memoir that upends our ideas about desire, class, and power.

Mercury Pictures Presents : A Novel Anthony Marra

Mercury Pictures Presents by Anthony Marra

My Dirty California  Jason Mosberg

My Dirty California by Jason Mosberg

In this literary thriller, a young man descends into the Los Angeles underworld to find his family’s killer–aided by a group of strangers with their own shadowy pasts.

What do you think about the books on this list?

Have you read any of these books?  Are any of them on your TBR?  What books set in Los Angeles would you add to this list?  Let’s talk about it in the comments below.

Book List - Los Angeles Book List Books Set in Los Angeles

+ show Comments

- Hide Comments

add a comment

Leave a Reply

oh so popular

A once-weekly e-newsletter to inspire your desire to read and live a life filled with books.

TERMS 
PRIVACY 
COPYRIGHT
EDITORIAL
ADVERTISE
ABOUT
CONTACT
DISCLAIMER

BIBLIOLIFESTYLE

follow along on social:

© 2020 - 2022  THE BIBLIO GROUP, LLC  |  BIBLIOLIFESTYLE  |  

SEND ME A NOTE >

GET ON THE LIST >

@BIBLIOLIFESTYLE >

Links to third-party sites may include affiliate links.  As a Bookshop, Amazon and Libro.fm Affiliate, BiblioLifestyle earns from qualifying purchases at no additional cost to you.

affiliate

[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
%d bloggers like this: