fbpx

Mysteries & Thrillers

The Best 2023 Mystery, Suspense & Thriller Books

From sensational mysteries to spine-tingling psychological thrillers, there is something for everyone on our list.

The 2023 Best Thriller Books, Mystery Books, Suspense Novels
New The Best 2023 Mystery, Suspense & Thriller Books

Are you eager to take a wild ride into the unknown? Do you love getting lost in stories so intense and gripping that your heart begins to race and your palms become sweatier as you flip the pages?  Then look no further than our list of the best 2023 thriller books, mystery books and suspense novels.  We’ve picked out some of the most thrilling reads from this year’s lineup – ones guaranteed to keep you glued to their pages late into the night.  From sensational mysteries to spine-tingling psychological thrillers, there is something for everyone on our list.  So settle down with your favorite beverage, prepare plenty of snacks, and buckle up for an unforgettable reading experience!

Note: These are the best 2023 thriller books, mysteries, and suspense novels so far.  More books will be added to the list in the coming months. 

LOOKING FOR MORE BEST BOOKS OF 2023?

The Blackhouse by Carole Johnstone

The Blackhouse by Carole Johnstone

An atmospheric thriller set on an isolated Scottish island where nothing is as it seems and shocking twists lie around every corner.

AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Villa by Rachel Hawkins

The Villa by Rachel Hawkins

Two friends reconnect on a girl’s trip to an Italian villa that was the site of a celebrity murder, but as the truth starts to emerge, hidden secrets come spilling out.

AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Blaze Me a Sun by Christoffer Carlsson, Translated by Rachel Willson-Broyles

Blaze Me a Sun by Christoffer Carlsson, Translated by Rachel Willson-Broyles

A serial killer in a small Swedish town commits his first murder the same night the prime minister.

AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

What Lies in the Woods by Kate Alice Marshall

What Lies in the Woods by Kate Alice Marshall

Three girls put a dangerous serial killer behind bars, but they lied, and now a secret kept for decades is threatening to emerge.

AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Exiles by Jane Harper

Exiles by Jane Harper

Federal Investigator Aaron Falk is on his way to a small town deep in Southern Australian wine country for the christening of an old friend’s baby. But mystery follows him, even on vacation.

AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Twyford Code by Janice Hallett

The Twyford Code by Janice Hallett

The mysterious connection between a teacher’s disappearance and an unsolved code in a children’s book is explored in this novel – a fiendishly clever, maddeningly original crime novel for lovers of word games, puzzles, and stories of redemption.

AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Writing Retreat by Julia Bartz

The Writing Retreat by Julia Bartz

An aspiring novelist attending an exclusive writing retreat with a book deal prize at stake now has to focus on survival when one of the participants disappears.

AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

How I'll Kill You by Ren DeStefano

How I’ll Kill You by Ren DeStefano

Your next stay-up-all-night thriller is about identical triplets who have a nasty habit of killing their boyfriends and what happens when the youngest commits their worst crime yet: falling in love with her mark.

AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

A Death at the Party by Amy Stuart

A Death at the Party by Amy Stuart

In this tense, spellbinding thriller set over the course of a single day, a woman prepares for a party that goes dreadfully wrong.

AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

Birnam Wood by Eleanor Catton

Birnam Wood by Eleanor Catton

A gripping psychological thriller that is Shakespearean in its wit, drama, and immersion in character and is an unflinching examination of the human impulse to ensure our own survival.

AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

What Have We Done by Alex Finlay

What Have We Done by Alex Finlay

From Alex Finlay, the author of Every Last Fear and The Night Shift, comes an action-packed new thriller about the lives we leave behind and the secrets we carry with us forever.

AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

I Love It When You Lie by Kristen Bird

I Love It When You Lie by Kristen Bird

A twisty psychological suspense about four women in an iconic Southern family who close ranks when a stranger is missing—or is he?—to protect dark secrets of their own.

AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Last Word by Taylor Adams

The Last Word by Taylor Adams

After posting a negative book review, a woman living in a remote location begins to wonder if the author is a little touchy—or very, very dangerous—in this pulse-pounding novel of psychological suspense and terror from the critically acclaimed author of No Exit and Hairpin Bridge.

AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

The Eden Test by Adam Sternbergh

The Eden Test by Adam Sternbergh

From Edgar Award-finalist Adam Sternbergh, an electrifying new work of domestic suspense for fans of White Lotus and The Last Thing He Told Me, about a couple who are forced to the ultimate extremes to save their marriage — and themselves.

AMAZON OR BOOKSHOP

New Book List of The 2023 Best Mystery Books, Suspense and Thriller Books

What do you think about these 2023 mysteries, suspense, and thriller books?

Have you read any books from this list?  What are your favorite 2023 mysteries, suspense, and thriller books?  What books would you add to the list?

LOOKING FOR MORE BEST BOOKS OF 2023?

Book List - The 2023 Best Mystery Books, Suspense and Thriller Books

Last Updated on March 15, 2023 by BiblioLifestyle

+ show Comments

- Hide Comments

add a comment

Leave a Reply

Farm-to-table jianbing kickstarter, mixtape taxidermy actually scenester. Asymmetrical tattooed locavore meggings YOLO organic pabst forage.

More About Us

PODCAST

AUTHOR FEATURES

BOOK LISTS

LIFESTYLE

Browse by Category

SELF CARE

READING CHALLENGES

READING GUIDES

READING TIPS

so hot right now

I'm Victoria, your new book bestie.

I nerd out over books, I'm constantly dreaming of ways we can all live the literary life we want, and my obsession is watching people discover how books can change their lives!

more about me

hey there!

AS SEEN IN:

Free Guide!

get the guide

As the leaves change and the temperatures cool, it’s so comforting to cozy up under a blanket with a cuppa and a really good book.

The 2023 Fall Reading Guide has thirty books organized across nine categories, plus fun things to do this season along with easy fall-themed recipes. 

Download The 2023 Fall Reading Guide

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: